Bubak prevails at Fort Morgan

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story

urssFrom URSS


Fort Morgan, CO — (August 31, 2013) — It took nearly half a season for Jake Bubak to capture his first United Rebel Sprint Series victory this season.


That was a little too long for the reigning URSS national rookie of the year.


But since that time, Bubak has added two more wins — the latest coming Sunday night at I-76 Speedway in Fort Morgan, Colo.


“Running with the Kansas guys and the national guys, that really helps,” Bubak said. “It helps when you get back into the region races.”


Bubak competed Saturday night at Elwood Park Speedway in Norton, Kan., where he finished third. Then the youngster hit the road back to his home state of Colorado for Sunday’s show.


He started eighth, and after a few cautions, he was in the lead.


“They went out and watered the track before we went out,” Bubak said. “They watered a little more than I thought they did. It was nice and sticky.”


Once Bubak was out front, he had a short challenge from Blake Smith on a restart. But that didn’t last long, and Bubak pulled away for his third win of the season.


“We went and ran Saturday night in Norton, and I love that track and hated to leave,” Bubak said. “But I’m happy we went back after the way last night went. I’m glad we did.”


Smith finished second behind Bubak, followed by Mark Walinder. Adam Trimble and Mike Hathaway round out the top five. Bubak also earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger award charging from his 9th starting position for the win.


Feature results

1. Jake Bubak, 2. Blake Smith, 3. Mark Walinder, 4. Adam Trimble, 5. Mike Hathaway, 6. Greg Schaffer, 7. John Jacob, 8. Coby Pearce, 9. Zach Merritt, 10. Luke Lucero, 11. Butch Hardman, 12. Brian Hardman (DNF).