Rain ends Gulf South season; Ray Allen Kulhanek takes 2013 title

2012 ASCs American Sprint Car Series Plain Logo Top story

From Bryan Hulbert

Beaumont, TX — (September 29, 2013) — After rains washed out events at the Royal Purple Raceway on September 7, Bruce Griffith, Jr. worked to provide a two day shootout to determine the 2013 Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Regional title; scheduling at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park on Sunday, September 29.

Unfortunately, the two day weekend will not happen as rains have moved into Beaumont, Texas and washed out the season finale at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park. With the call made, Ray Allen Kulhanek has earned the 2013 Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Regional Title by 13 markers over Aaron Retuzel.

The season ends with 14 different winners in 19 races contested. Aaron Retuzel led the field with five victories. Channin Tankersley was the only other repeat winner in 2013 with a pair of wins. Ray Allen Kulhanek, Brandon Berryman, Blake Hahn, Johnny Herrera, Michael McNeil, Logan Forler, Christopher Bell, Jason Johnson, Kevin Ramey, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Travis Rilat, and Brad Loyet each earned a single win.

For complete points, news, and information on the ASCS Nation, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.