usac United States Auto Club 2012 logo

From Dick Jordan


It hasn’t happened in 11 years but at least seven drivers will try to win USAC Silver Crown and AMSOIL National Sprint races at different tracks on the same weekend this Saturday and Sunday. Saturday’s Sprint race is at the Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway and Sunday’s “twilight” “Sumar Classic” Silver Crown race is at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.


J.J. Yeley was the last to accomplish the feat, winning Silver Crown races at Lucas Oil Raceway and the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis and a Sprint race at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio all in the span of four days. That year Yeley became the second driver to sweep USAC’s National “Triple Crown” joining Tony Stewart (1995) as the only drivers in history to accomplish the three-series “sweep” in a single year.


Drivers Jarett Andretti, Shane Cockrum, Jerry Coons Jr., Dave Darland, Bobby East, Tracy Hines, Kody Swanson and Chris Windom are all expected to compete in both weekend races.


Darland is the only driver of the eight to have won in the Sprints at Lawrenceburg and the Silver Crown at Terre Haute. Coons has Sprint wins at both tracks, while Hines has Midget wins at both and Sprint wins at Terre Haute.


Saturday’s Lawrenceburg race is round three of the 2014 AMSOIL calendar. Brady Bacon and Bryan Clauson scored victories at Ocala, Fla. in February. Sunday’s Terre Haute race opens the 11-race 2014 Silver Crown calendar.


Defending winners at each track are Clauson (2013) at Lawrenceburg and East (2012) at Terre Haute. They won their respective series championships each year.


Levi Jones holds the one-lap Lawrenceburg Sprint car track record of 12.926 seconds set in 2008. Josh Wise is the one-lap Terre Haute Silver Crown record holder at 20.139 seconds, set in 2005.