Kofoid Sweeps Opening Night of the Gold Crown Nationals

Buddy Kofoid in victory lane after winning the feature on opening night of the Gold Crown Nationals at Tri-City Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

From POWRi

PONTOON BEACH, IL (October 2, 2020) — The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League was back in action for a two-day stint at the famous Tri-City Speedway for the Gold Crown Nationals. With 28 cars in attendance, an action-packed slider-filled night kept the crowd and drivers on their feet. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid came out on top and killed the field to take his seventh trip to victory lane this season.

The feature action was all over at Tri-City Speedway, as front row competitors #67 Buddy Kofoid and #21K Emilio Hoover would being the field of 23 drivers to the green flag. Pole-sitter Kofoid would take the top side and gain the early lead, Thomas Meseraull would strike early but a pair of reds kept the field bunched up and gave Kofoid the advantage on the field.

With just under ten laps remaining, Kofoid still chose the top line around the racetrack but teammate Daison Pursley had his mind set elsewhere. Pursley would use a high-to-low maneuver on the exit of turn two which would give him an advantage. Pursley made the pass for the second-place position and set his sights on the top spot. With the laps winding down, Pursley gave Kofoid all he had but came up one spot short of his first POWRi Midget Victory. Cannon McIntosh finished in the third-place position, Thomas Meseraull in fourth, and rounding out your top five was Zach Daum.

The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League will be back in action tomorrow, October 3 at Tri-City Speedway for the final night of the Gold Crown Nationals.

Can’t make it out to the track and don’t want to miss any of the action on the racing program? Subscribe today at POWRi.TV to catch all the action LIVE and ON-DEMAND.

For more details about Tri-City Speedway and the Gold Crown, visit www.TriCitySpeedway.net online or follow along on Twitter @TriCity11 and “Like” on Facebook.

Follow along for more information such as race recaps, updates, full results, and press releases online at www.powri.com, or on Twitter & Instagram at @POWRi_Racing or on Facebook at POWRi. POWRi League rules, contingencies, forms, and payouts can be found under the info tab at the top of the POWRi website.

Gold Crown Nationals
POWRi National Midget League
Tri-City Speedway
Pontoon Beach, Illinois
Friday October 2, 2020

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 21KS-Zach Daum[1]
2. 55K-Karter Sarff[2]
3. 15-Emerson Axsom[3]
4. 71K-Cannon McIntosh[5]
5. 49-Joe B Miller[4]
6. 19P-Don Droud Jr[6]
7. 35-Tyler Robbins[7]

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 67-Michael Kofoid[2]
2. 3N-Jake Neuman[1]
3. 72-Sam Johnson[4]
4. 98-Clinton Boyles[6]
5. 50-Daniel Adler[5]
6. 53-Sean Robbins[3]
7. 10-Amber Balcaen[7]

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 7X-Thomas Meseraull[1]
2. 97K-Jesse Love[2]
3. 91T-Tyler Thomas[4]
4. 00-Korey Weyant[7]
5. 28-Ace McCarthy[6]
6. 21-Trey Gropp[5]
7. 26-Tristin Thomas[3]

Heat Race #4 (8 Laps)
1. 21K-Emilio Hoover[2]
2. 67K-Bryant Wiedeman[3]
3. 20G-Noah Gass[4]
4. 9-Daison Pursley[7]
5. 5T-Ryan Timms[1]
6. 71-Kaylee Bryson[5]
7. 97-Brenham Crouch[6]

B-Main (12 Laps)
1. 28-Ace McCarthy[1]
2. 5T-Ryan Timms[4]
3. 71-Kaylee Bryson[7]
4. 19P-Don Droud Jr[5]
5. 50-Daniel Adler[2]
6. 21-Trey Gropp[6]
7. 49-Joe B Miller[3]
8. 26-Tristin Thomas[12]
9. 10-Amber Balcaen[10]
10. 53-Sean Robbins[8]
11. 35-Tyler Robbins[9]
12. 97-Brenham Crouch[11]

A-Main (25 Laps)
1. 67-Michael Kofoid[1]
2. 9-Daison Pursley[7]
3. 71K-Cannon McIntosh[16]
4. 7X-Thomas Meseraull[4]
5. 21KS-Zach Daum[3]
6. 28-Ace McCarthy[17]
7. 3N-Jake Neuman[10]
8. 71-Kaylee Bryson[19]
9. 67K-Bryant Wiedeman[5]
10. 97K-Jesse Love[9]
11. 91T-Tyler Thomas[12]
12. 15-Emerson Axsom[15]
13. 72-Sam Johnson[11]
14. 5T-Ryan Timms[18]
15. 20G-Noah Gass[13]
16. 55K-Karter Sarff[8]
17. 97-Brenham Crouch[23]
18. 50-Daniel Adler[21]
19. 98-Clinton Boyles[14]
20. 00-Korey Weyant[6]
21. 21-Trey Gropp[22]
22. 19P-Don Droud Jr[20]
23. 21K-Emilio Hoover[2]

POWRi Winged 305 Sprint Cars

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 88-J Kinder[4]
2. 17-Paul Haley[2]
3. 44-Jeff Matta[5]
4. 00-Matt Fair[3]
5. 32-Jeff Tuxhorn[1]

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 02-Austin Crane[3]
2. 4-Tyler Duff[5]
3. 15K-Kaitlyn Boland[4]
4. 122-Lane Warner[1]
5. 9T-Tyler Shoemaker[2]

A-Main (15 Laps)
1. 88-J Kinder[1]
2. 4-Tyler Duff[4]
3. 02-Austin Crane[2]
4. 122-Lane Warner[8]
5. 44-Jeff Matta[5]
6. 15K-Kaitlyn Boland[6]
7. 9T-Tyler Shoemaker[10]
8. 00-Matt Fair[7]
DNS: 17-Paul Haley
DNS: 32-Jeff Tuxhorn