From Dick Jordan

Four of the top-10 drivers in the USAC Silver Crown Championship Series standings are still seeking their initial 2010 victories and they could help produce the first Silver Crown season in 20 years without a repeat winner! The 2010 series concludes with races Saturday at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track (Sumar Classic 100) and October 16 at Toledo (Ohio) Speedway (Rollie Beale 150).

Point leader Bud Kaeding of Campbell, Calif., Jerry Coons Jr. of Tucson, Ariz., Brian Tyler of Mount Pleasant, N.C. and Bobby East of Brownsburg, Ind. have a total of 29 career Silver Crown wins to their credit but none so far this year. Kaeding’s last win came at Phoenix, Ariz. in 2009. Tyler’s most recent win was at Oswego. N.Y. last year, while Coons’ most recent win was at Eldora Speedway in 2008. East won the 2008 closer at Phoenix.

Tyler has 16 career wins, second only to Jack Hewitt (23), while East has six, Kaeding five and Coons two.

In 1990 the nine Silver Crown races were won by Ken Schrader, Hewitt, Jimmy Sills, George Snider, Gary Hieber, Chuck Gurney, Jeff Swindell, Eric Gordon and Steve Butler.

This year’s winners list includes Tracy Hines and six first-time winners: Levi Jones, A.J. Fike, Shane Hmiel, Tanner and Kody Swanson and series rookie Bryan Clauson. Only Tanner (15th) resides outside the “top-10” in the current points.

Another driver seeking his first 2010 Silver Crown triumph is defending “Sumar Classic 100” winner Dave Darland, who won the 2008 running. Last year’s Terre Haute race was rained out. Darland finished second at Eldora Speedway September 25 and was fifth in the Hoosier Hundred in May and at DuQuoin, Ill. Labor Day weekend.