Rilat Wins Opening Night Of 2013 Speedweek Northwest

ASCS Northwest Region

ASCS Northwest RegionFrom Ben Deatherage
Elma, WA – (June 28, 2013) – It was all smiles in victory lane at Grays Harbor Raceway as Travis Rilat of Forney, Texas opened up the 2013 Bully Dog Performance Speedweek Northwest presented by Contingency Connection with a dominant triumph at Grays Harbor Raceway on Friday June 28th. The thirty-lap feature would go from start to finish without a single incident and had two distinct grooves of racing the whole way. It would mark the third different winner in this year’s American Sprint Car Series-Northwest Region action and was Rilat’s fourth career Speedweek Northwest victory.

Rilat’s quest to victory lane began when he would start on the pole position for the thirty lap main event in the Xtreme Oilfield Technologies/Carlan Services #39C owned by Richard Samure. The Texan would grab the lead and set a wicked pace for the field in the opening laps. It didn’t take him too long to develop a comfortable lead over the rest of the competition.

Stanwood, Washington’s Jared Peterson, driving the Island Muffler and Brake/All Points Petroleum #7N KPC for car owner Roger Henderson, tried to reel Rilat in for the lead but Rilat was just too good when it came to negotiating lapped traffic. It was the first time since 2010 that Travis Rilat had visited victory lane at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Henry Van Dam of Enumclaw, Washington would make a late race move to into second place, where he would finish, in the Kovash Logging/Johanson Excavating #33V A.R.T. while ending the night in third was defending GHR Midget track champion Jared Peterson. Completing the top five finishers was defending Grays Harbor 360 Sprint track champion J.J. Hickle of Quilcene, Washington placing fourth in his Meyer Electric/Kitsap Powdercoating #3 XXX followed by the SKS Racing/Rocket Designs/Al Parker Racing Engines #11 KPC of Roger Crockett from Medford, Oregon in fifth who just so happens to be the defending titlist of the ASCS-Northwest Region.

Earlier in the evening heat race winners were Tacoma, Washington’s Evan Margeson in the TFC Plating #50 XXX, Henry Van Dam, the Dave Smith Motorsports/Powdercoating Inc. #17 Maxim of Cam Smith from Mill Creek, Washington, and J.J. Hickle. Winning the consolation feature was Kenny Allen of Chico, California in his Chico Truck & RV/PJ Trailers #7K Maxim.

The ASCS-Northwest Region return to Grays Harbor Raceway tomorrow night for night two of the 2013 Bully Dog Performance Speedweek Northwest presented by Contingency Connection. Sponsoring the night of action for the facility will be the Elma Chamber of Commerce organization.

Since 1998, Bully Dog has been developing ways to improve diesel performance. Bully Dog Performance systems are designed with quality and functionality in mind and are versatile as well. Whether you’re looking for outrageous racing power, pulling power, fuel economy or just a mild upgrade, Bully Dog has the products that you need, many with safety features built in for your additional piece of mind. The Bully Dog name is continually mentioned when talking about the major players in the diesel performance industry and with good reason. Through innovation and a keen sense of what the diesel enthusiast is looking for, Bully Dog has met the challenge and has succeeded in exceeding customer expectations. For more information logon to

The American Sprint Car Series-Northwest Region is the westernmost arm of the American Sprint Car Series sanctioning body located in the Pacific Northwest the series hosts 360 Sprint Car racing on dirt tracks throughout Oregon and Washington from May to September. For more information on the latest news and stories about the series log onto their website at or

Race Summary:
American Sprint Car Series-Northwest Region Race #3
2013 Bully Dog Performance Speedweek Northwest presented by Contingency Connection Round #1
Friday June 28th, 2013
Grays Harbor Raceway
Elma, Washington
26 Entries

Heat Race Winners: Evan Margeson (1), Henry Van Dam (2), Cam Smith (3), J.J. Hickle (4)
B-Feature: 1. Kenny Allen, 2. Tyler Anderson, 3. Reece Goetz, 4. Seth Nunes, 5. Cale Brooke, 6. Colton Akerstrom, 7. Allison Journey, 8. Steve Reeves, 9. Luke Didiuk, DNS Rick Fauver
A-Feature: 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Henry Van Dam, 3. Jared Peterson, 4. J.J. Hickle, 5. Roger Crockett, 6. Colton Heath, 7. Cam Smith, 8. Jay Cole, 9. Mason Moore, 10. Trey Starks, 11. Zack Spaulding, 12. Kelly Miller, 13. Garen Linder, 14. Chadd Noland, 15. Seth Nunes, 16. Tyler Anderson, 17. Kenny Allen, 18. Evan Margeson, DNS Reece Goetz, DNS Jesse Thistle