URSS returns to Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story



By the URSS


OBERLIN, Kan. — Absence might make the heart grow fonder. But for the drivers in the United Rebel Sprint Series, facing a night at the D-shaped Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway is a welcomed sight.


The Rebels return to the 3/8-mile dirt track Saturday night for another chance to tame the surface.


The URSS recently wrapped up a three-day stint at the track during Speed Week. Those three races saw three different winners, including Steven Richardson  and Zac Taylor — who both notched their first career URSS wins — and Luke Cranston.


The race originally was scheduled for Friday at Beaver County Raceway in Beaver, Okla. But since the track has been shuddered this year, promoter Glen Thompson has arranged for the Rebels to compete on the nearby track in Liberal.


And if this Saturday’s race follows suit as the others this year, the crowd will be in for a real treat.


In five races at the track this season, there have been five drivers take home top honors. Those winners include Barry Crane on April 27 — his first URSS win — Ray Seemann, Richardson, Taylor and Cranston.


The URSS has only 10 sanctioned races remaining for 2013 and has had 17 drivers win in 20 features. Only Herbert, Cranston and C.J. Johnson have multiple wins this year.


For more information about the United Rebel Sprint Series, visit www.unitedrebelsprintseries.com.