trail-way speedway trail way logo

From Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA (05/07/10) – You could say Brad McClelland pulled a “Jeff Rohrbaugh” on Jeff Rohrbaugh at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

And the low-side move to claim the lead on a 14th lap restart completed a run from 12th starting spot and put McClelland back on the top of the all-time winners list in the 358 sprint division.

McClelland, who won his second of the year and 22nd of his Trail-Way career, advanced several positions at the start of the race, getting by Jessie Morrison to move into the top five on lap eight.

Mike Bittinger led the first ten laps before third-starting Jeff Rohrbaugh took the lead on lap 11. Two laps later, Bittinger lost a left rear wheel on the backstetch while running second, bringing out the caution. By that time, McClelland had advanced to third, and pulled onto the back bumper of Rohrbaugh for the restart.

“Jeff must’ve had something wrong,” said McClelland upon exiting the B&D Truck Hoist #6, “I was gonna go to the top on that restart, and he left the bottom open, so I took it.”

McClelland led the rest of the way through six more cautions to score the win.

“All those restarts was something,” added McClelland, “But if he had got going good, we might have had to deal with lapped traffic. This car hasn’t been too good here this year, but we found something and it was definitely good tonight.”

Rohrbaugh settled for second, with Tim Wagaman, 11th-starting Dale Hammaker, and Randy Davis, Jr. completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Morrison, Keith Prutzman, 15th-starting Adam Lawrence, Troy Becker, and 18th-starting Scott Fisher.

In addition to the nine cautions, a red flag was thrown on lap seven for a flipping Mike Duncan, Jr. in turns three and four. He was uninjured.

Heat winners for the 21 358 Sprint Cars were McClelland, Rohrbaugh, and Davis.


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 7V-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 1-Tim Wagaman; 4. 66-Dale Hammaker; 5. 98-Randy Davis, Jr.; 6. 18J-Jessie Morrison; 7. 28-Keith Prutzman; 8. 5-Adam Lawrence; 9. 98B-Troy Becker; 10. 21-Scott Fisher; 11. 10W-Brian Bruckner; 12. 27-Brian Suchy; 13. 17G-George Streaker, Jr. (DNF); 14. 51N-Nick Palmerino (DNF); 15. 99-Joe Trone, Jr. (DNF); 16. 66B-Cory Brockman (DNF); 17. 20-Trevor Little (DNF); 18. 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); 19. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 20. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 21. 11D-Mike Duncan (DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Mike Bittinger (1-10), Jeff Rohrbaugh (11-13); Brad McClelland (14-25)

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 4. 28-Keith Prutzman; 5. 64-Randy Whisler; 6. 11D-Mike Duncan; 7. 17G-George Streaker. No Time.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 7V-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 1-Tim Wagaman; 3. 10W-Brian Bruckner; 4. 18J-Jessie Morrison; 5. 66B-Cory Brockman; 6. 27-Brian Suchy; 7. 51N-Nick Palmerino. No Time.

Heat 3 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 98-Randy Davis Jr.; 2. 20-Trevor Little; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 98B-Troy Becker; 5. 5-Adam Lawrence; 6. 21-Scott Fisher; 7. 59T-Tim Stallings. Time – 2:26.96