Blank Claims Second Double-X Victory

From Double-X Speedway

California, MO — (July 29, 2012) — While the racing season at Double X is rapidly drawing to a close for 2012, new cars and drivers are still making their presence known. Sunday night saw repeat winners in three divisions but a new face also graced victory lane.

Beginning the evening were the Cooper Racing Street Stocks. Curt Turpin of Jefferson City and Tuscumbia’s Dale Berry led the field to the green flag for the 15 lap main event. Berry of was able to take a slight advantage after one lap and would use this early momentum to carry him to the checkered flag. It was no walk in the park as Turpin would be right on the leader’s rear bumper the entire event and crossed the line less than half a car length off of the leader. Third place Andrew Roark of Henley likewise was less than half a car length behind Turpin at the checkered flag. Russellville’s Derek Henson shook off last weeks misfortune and posted a solid fourth place finish. Keeth Strange of Eldon turned in a strong fifth place run. Nick Turner of Jeff City came in sixth and Centertown’s Dylan Bias claimed seventh. Turpin won the heat race.

In the Double X Hobby Stock division, an influx of new cars provided some excitement and strong competition for the weekly regulars. Heat race winners Will Register of Sedalia and Windsor’s Chuck Coffey sat on the front row for the feature event. At the drop of the green Register took the lead followed by third starting Dylan Fischer of Jefferson City in the 13X machine. Contact between these two in turn one led to Register coming to a stop in turn 2 and Fischer retiring to the pit area with mechanical issues. On the restart Chase Fischer took the lead in his red #77 and was not headed for the duration of the feature event. Register recovered to finish second. Third was Chuck Coffey, fourth was claimed by California’s Rudy Wirts and fifth was Delton Rissler of Latham. Rounding out the field were Laura Atkinson of Eldon in sixth, California’s AJ Wirts in seventh, Ethan Green of Woolridge in eighth and Dylan Fischer in ninth. Heat winners were Register and Coffey.

The 600cc Micro Sprints again took to the track for their events atop the 1/4 mile clay oval. Pole sitter Corey Nelson of Eugene wasted no time establishing himself as the car to beat by taking the lead at the drop of the green. Fellow front row starter Dean Hathman of Columbia gave chase early and challenged Nelson for the top spot but the longer the race went the stronger Nelson became and began to open daylight between himself and the remainder of the field. At the checkerd it was Nelson, D. Hathman, Blake Bennington of Columbia, Kyle Schlotz of Jefferson City and Columbia’s Scott Hathman completing the top five. Nick Schaefer of Marshall, Chris Ritch from Kansas, and Nick Workmann of Belle completed the field. Nelson and D. Hathman claimed victories in the heat races.
The premier division, the Xxtreme Glass Winged Sprint Cars, were also in competition to provide racing excitement for the fans in the stands. At the drop of the green, pole sitter Taylor Walton of Warrensburg had a mechanical problem which resulted in the JHR #77 of Bryan Grimes of Slater becoming entangled with the Walton machine. On the resulting restart, point leader Tyler Blank of California was able to gain the advantage over Australian Chris Ackland. As Blank was finding his line around the track, Lone Jack’s Cody Baker was reeling him in and was able to pressure Blank for a few laps. Blank was not to be denied as he would lead the entire 25 lap feature event. Baker would be content to claim second, Sedalia’s TJ Muths placed a strong third after making quick repairs after the opening lap scuffle, Bryan Grimes claimed a fourth place finish, running the entire 25 laps without a nose wing on the #77 and California’s Tyler Elliott posted another top five finish on the season. Completing the top ten were Chris Ackland, David Brown of Marshall, Belton’s Greg Clemons, Aj Wirts of California and Taylor Walton.

Next Sunday night the 600cc micros join the winged sprints, street stocks, and hobby stocks. Be sure to mark your calendars for the final of racing which will be Saturday night August 11th for the season championships, awards, mechanics race and powder puff. For more information call 573-796-4694 or log onto