Peterson wins Western Sprint Tour feature at Yakima

Western Sprint Tour WST Top Story Logo 2015

From Ben Deatherage

Yakima, WA — (September 25, 2015) — The Western Sprint Tour would make their first visit to the state of Washington on Friday September 25th for the opening night of the Dirt Fall Classic. The site would be Yakima’s Central Washington State Fair Raceway. Twenty-three cars would be on hand to tackle the might 3/8-mile clay oval with drivers representing the states of Washington, Oregon, California, and the Canadian province of British Columbia.

In the main event Jared Peterson would seize the lead right off of the initial start and did not let up. The Stanwood native, of Peterson, proved to be lightning fast in open track. The field would go on a long green flag run of nineteen laps which opened the door for lapped traffic to become a factor. It was very heavy traffic for the leaders to navigate through the back markers on occasion with Peterson receiving some very heavy pressure late in the race.

A caution would occur on the nineteenth circuit which required a late race restart. Peterson, driving the Roger Henderson owned Cascade Metal Recycling/Island Muffler & Brake/Bailey Brothers Performance Center #7N KPC, would master the situation to pull away and win his first Western Sprint Tour race of his career. It was his first win at Yakima since 2013 and the second time he has been victorious at the facility.

Jason Solwold, from Burlington, was a respectable second in the Mike Anderson owned Shaylene Raye Motorsports/Pops Entertainment/Vick’s 66/Speedmart Inc. #18 A.R.T. while the Allen Larson and Kelly Welch owned LAW Motorsports/Triple X Race Co./CHADL Investments/Mt. Baker Landscaping #33 XXX, driven by Marysville’s Colton Heath, got third. The rest of the top five was made up of Cam Smith of Mill Creek in his Dave Smith Motorsports/Powdercoating Inc./ #17 Maxim in fourth and fifth place going to the R Transport/Sno-Lynn Machine/Barnes Trucking #9 Eagle of Jayme Barnes from Everett.

Jason Solwold would set fast time of the night as well as broke Travis Rutz’s old track of 14.604, set in 2007, with a 14.545 second lap. Luke Didiuk from Vancouver, British Columbia, piloting the Steve Dyer owned Hymach Industries/Aquabus Ferries/Select Fluid Power/Barnyard Racing Engines #9A XXX, the DES Inc./Dan Simpson Racing/Red Line Oil/LaChance Kofoid Enterprises #11K Maxim of Penngrove, California’s Michael Kofoid, and Shelton native Jay Cole in the familiar Our Community Credit Union/Bulldog Trailers/Little Creek Casino/Arcadia Shellfish #0J XXX were the heat race winners. Monroe’s Jake Helsel got the job done in the consolation feature in his DeYoung Inc./Superior Powdercoating/Outdoor Synergy Composits/Speedmart Inc. #44 Rocket and Michael Kofoid won the trophy dash.

The Western Sprint Tour is back at the Central Washington State Fair Raceway on Saturday September 26th for the final race of the season. Racing is scheduled to start at 6:00 PM and Pit Passes are $35.00. Reserved Seats are available and are $18.00 each. For the latest news on the WST log on to

Race Summary:
Western Sprint Tour Race #12
Friday September 25th, 2015
Central Washington State Fair Raceway
Yakima, Washington

A Feature : 1. 7N-Jared Peterson; 2. 18-Jason Solwold; 3. 33-Colton Heath; 4. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 5. 9-Jayme Barnes; 6. 33V-Henry Vandam; 7. 9R-Reece Goetz; 8. 3-J.J. Hickle; 9. 91-Chase Goetz; 10. 0J-Jay Cole; 11. 08-Steve Vague; 12. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 13. 97R-Jason Reed; 14. 44-Jake Helsel; 15. 15R-Jake Gilman; 16. 22C-Trevor Cook; 17. 55-Trey Starks; 18. 9A-Luke Didiuk; 19. 15-Jeff Dunlap; 20. 12-Jared Ridge

B Feature : 1. 44-Jake Helsel; 2. 15-Jeff Dunlap; 3. 12-Jared Ridge; 4. 51T-Tristan Spiers; 5. 15R-Jake Gilman; 6. 45-Brent McGrath; 7. 27W-Guy Weedman

Dash : 1. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 2. 7N-Jared Peterson; 3. 33V-Henry Vandam; 4. 18-Jason Solwold; 5. 33-Colton Heath; 6. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith

Heat 1: 1. 9A-Luke Didiuk; 2. 33V-Henry Vandam; 3. 18-Jason Solwold; 4. 08-Steve Vague; 5. 15-Jeff Dunlap; 6. 15R-Jake Gilman; 7. 12-Jared Ridge

Heat 2: 1. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 2. 97R-Jason Reed; 3. 7N-Jared Peterson; 4. 91-Chase Goetz; 5. 9-Jayme Barnes; 6. 44-Jake Helsel; 7. 45-Brent McGrath; 8. 27W-Guy Weedman

Heat 3: 1. 0J-Jay Cole; 2. 9R-Reece Goetz; 3. 3-J.J. Hickle; 4. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 5. 22C-Trevor Cook; 6. 55-Trey Starks; 7. 51T-Tristan Spiers

Qualifying: 1. 18-Jason Solwold; 2. 7N-Jared Peterson; 3. 55-Trey Starks; 4. 33-Colton Heath; 5. 9-Jayme Barnes; 6. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 7. 33V-Henry Vandam; 8. 45-Brent McGrath; 9. 3-J.J. Hickle; 10. 08-Steve Vague; 11. 91-Chase Goetz; 12. 22C-Trevor Cook; 13. 12-Jared Ridge; 14. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 15. 9R-Reece Goetz; 16. 9A-Luke Didiuk; 17. 97R-Jason Reed; 18. 0J-Jay Cole; 19. 15-Jeff Dunlap; 20. 44-Jake Helsel; 21. 51T-Tristan Spiers; 22. 15R-Jake Gilman; 23. 27W-Guy Weedman

Current Western Sprint Tour Point Standings (Top Ten):
1. 55-Trey Starks 974; 2. 77-Kyle Hirst 702; 3. 11K-Michael Kofoid 701; 4. 11-Roger Crockett 694; 5. 22-Garen Linder 647; 6. 5D-Patrick Dills 635; 7. 94/8R-Steven Tiner 633; 8. 31C-Justyn Cox 622; 9. 96-Greg Hamilton 566; 10. 21-Colby Weisz 545