Brian McClelland Conquers Cowtown for ASCS Lone Star Win

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

KENNEDALE, Texas (June 12, 2010) – Tulsa, Oklahoma’s Brian McClelland made his venture south of the Red River pay off with a win in Saturday night’s 25-lap American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region main event atop the high-banked, ¼-mile Cowtown Speedway clay oval.

The two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion took the lead away from Scott Reneau after a handful of laps then outlasted Kolt Walker to take his first win of the year aboard Ronnie Davis’ D&L Performance-powered Davis Construction No. 25 Eagle.

Dodging a late incident to secure his eighth career overall ASCS Regional feature win, McClelland took the checkered flag ahead of reigning ASCS Lone Star champion Kevin Ramey, who disposed of Walker for runner-up honors on a final lap restart.

Walker settled for the show position, while Sean McClelland edged New Mexico teen Joshua Hodges at the stripe for fourth.

While Hodges rounded out the top five, the balance of the top ten included current Lone Star points leader Eric Baldaccini, Martin Edwards, John Ricketts, Claud Estes and Travis Elliott.

J.P. Bailey, Ramey, George White and Baldaccini topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 32-car field, with Michael Lang and Brian Parker winning the “B” Mains.

White climbed a tire and flipped down the frontstretch in the opening rounds of the feature event. He was uninjured.

ASCS Lone Star Region Results from Cowtown Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 45-J.P. Bailey, 2. 25-Brian McClelland, 3. 74e-Claud Estes, 4. 76-John Ricketts, 5. 45x-Martin Edwards, 6. 20-Chad Wilson, 7. 30x-Bean Elliott. DNS: 65-Skip Wilson.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 4. 14-Michael Lang, 5. 24-Justin Carver, 6. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 7. 56-Jarrett Lucito, 8. 6-Justin Spoerl.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 10-George White, 2. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 3. 67-Rodney Henderson, 4. 9-Brian Parker, 5. 79-Ryan Hall, 6. 17w-Brad Welborn, 7. 15T-Travis Elliott. DNS: 03-Joe Wood, Jr.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 45k-Kolt Walker, 3. 1r-Scott Reneau, 4. 5c-Chris Coker, 5. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 6. 66-Nick Clinkenbeard, 7. 30-Brandon Corn, 8. 11-Justin Melton.

First “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 14-Michael Lang, 2. 24-Justin Carver, 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 4. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 5. 20-Chad Wilson, 6. 11-Justin Melton, 7. 56-Jarrett Lucito. DNS: 30-Brandon Corn, 79-Ryan Hall.

Second “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 9-Brian Parker, 2. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 3. 15T-Travis Elliott, 4. 17w-Brad Welborn, 5. 66-Nick Clinkenbeard, 6. 5c-Chris Coker, 7. 6-Justin Spoerl, 8. 30x-Bean Elliott. DNS: 65-Skip Wilson.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 25-Brian McClelland, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 45k-Kolt Walker, 4. 1-Sean McClelland, 5. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 6. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 7. 45x-Martin Edwards, 8. 76-John Ricketts, 9. 74e-Claud Estes, 10. 15T-Travis Elliott, 11. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 12. 1r-Scott Reneau, 13. 9-Brian Parker, 14. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 15. 67-Rodney Henderson, 16. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 17. 24-Justin Carver, 18. 14-Michael Lang, 19. 45-J.P. Bailey, 20. 10-George White.

ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top 10): 1. Eric Baldaccini 624, 2. Claud Estes 553, 3. Preston Peebles II 549, 4. John Ricketts 533, 5. Justin Melton 527, 6. Bean Elliott 513, 7. Brandon Corn 511, 8. Kolt Walker 488, 9. Martin Edwards 480, 10. Chris Coker 452.