From Must See Racing

Holly, MI — A Michigan university and a Michigan based racing series have teamed up to provide enhanced learning opportunities for students and improved racing experiences for drivers and fans.

Representatives of Saginaw Valley State University and Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series have reached an agreement to combine education and the business of racing. SVSU has an established racing track record, having recorded two top-10 and four top 20 finishes since 2002 in the Formula Society of Automotive Engineers Collegiate Design Series, competing against colleges and universities from around the world. Must See Racing operates a race series that expects to have twelve races in 2011 at “short tracks” in the Midwest and beyond. Some 43 million spectators attend short track racing events nationwide each year.

“This is a great opportunity to give our students hands-on experience in the very technical, intense and competitive world of car racing,” said Brooks Byam, SVSU professor of mechanical engineering. “By taking their classroom knowledge and applying it to race conditions, our students will integrate two important areas of learning.”

Under the agreement, SVSU students would provide analytical, data acquisition, and data reporting for high performance parts and equipment used in the racing series that already features another common bond. Kyle Flint, a mechanical engineering major from Litchfield, MI. is regarded as an “up and coming” driver on the circuit.

“This is the best of all worlds,” said Must See Racing president Jim Hanks. “SVSU’s testing and analytical capabilities bring an important and necessary addition to our technical inspection department. Together, we will be able to gain a better understanding of critical competitive components, like tire wear and performance, to improve our sport.”

Must See Racing television will reach more than 100 million U.S. homes in 2011.

Watch for upcoming information about the Must See Racing Show on RaceFansTV to be filmed at S.V.S.U. with hosts Dave Argabright and Tom Bigelow.