Carpenter, Cressley, Wirts, and Melby Take Wins at Double X

By Chad Buford
California, MO(July 17, 2011)- Taking his first Mr. G’s 360 sprint car win of the season, Lanny Carpenter wired the field at Double X Speedway Sunday night.
The first start would see Dakota Carroll and T.J. Muths getting together on the front stretch with both hitting the inside wall and suffering heavy damage. During the red flag, point leader Tyler Blank would go to the pits with driveline problems.
Once green, Carpenter set the pace and was chased by two-time feature winner Cody Baker. The pair set a torrid pace and moved away from the rest of the field until spins by Miranda Arnold and Tyler Elliott in turn one slowed the action on lap seven.
Carpenter would again be chased by Baker once racing resumed as Evan Martin and Chad Corken followed the lead pair.
Baker remained within striking distance of Carpenter until he came to a stop in turn four with a blown right rear tire on lap eighteen ending his evening.
Carpenter would go unchallenged the rest of the way in his Sierra Pool and Spas/Beeline Snack Shop J&J with Engine Connection power. Martin ran second in his Heidbreder Foundation/Jefferson Asphalt Maxim with Buzzard power. Corken ran a strong third in his Wesmar-powered Maxim. Adam Jones, in his first race back since a serious automobile accident a few months ago, finished fourth in the Dennis Jones Wireless Horizon/Harry J’s Steakhouse JEI with Hovis power. Rounding out the top five was Taylor Walton in the family Aaron’s sponsored sprinter.
In the Cooper Racing street stocks, Tipton’s Tim Cressley won his first race of the year after a tough battle with California’s John Clancy and Henley’s Andrew Roark. Clancy would end up finishing second while Roark would fade to fifth at the end. California’s Jim Wheatley ran third and California’s James Keeran was fourth.
In Robbie D’s hobby stock action, California’s A.J. Wirts picked up his second win of the season in the XX car. He was followed by Eldon’s Chris Brockert and Smithton’s Rodger Detherage. Points leader Will Register of Sedalia was fourth and California’s Rudy Wirts rounded out the top five.
Sedalia’s Cole Melby took top honors in the 600 micro midgets. He was followed by Columbia’s Dean Hathman and Blake David of Fulton. Corey Nelson of Eugene was fourth and Jefferson City’s Kyle Schlotz rounded out the top five.
Next week, the ASCS Warrior region sprint cars will return for their final Double X appearance of 2011 in the 9th Annual Clyde Wood Memorial which will pay $2000 to win AND $250 to start. The sprints will be joined by the street stocks, hobby stocks, and 600 micros. Admission will be $15 for adults with a pit pass costing $25. Gates open at 5:00 with hot laps at 7:00 and racing at 7:30. Please go to for more information.
Mr. G’s 360 sprint car results for July 17th
1st Heat- 1. 4 Evan Martin, Lohman, MO(2) 2. 5M Miranda Arnold, Sedalia, MO(5) 3. 3V Tyler Utz, Sedalia, MO(1) 4. 48 David Brown, Marshall, MO(3) 5. 31 Matt McGarry, Alma, MO(4)
2nd Heat- 1. 24 Lanny Carpenter, Clarksburg, MO(1) 2. 75 Tyler Blank, California, MO(3) 3. 93 Taylor Walton, Warrensburg, MO(5) 4. 1A Adam Jones, Wright City, MO(4) 5. 49 Tyler Elliott, California, MO(2)
3rd Heat- 1. 38 Cody Baker, Lone Jack, MO(4) 2. 11 Chad Corken, Springdale, AR(2) 3. 11C Dakota Carroll, LaMonte, MO(1) 4. 65 T.J. Muths, Sedalia, MO(5) 5. 55 Greg Clemons, Belton, MO(3)
A Main- 1. 24 Carpenter(3) 2. 4 Martin(4) 3. 11 Corken(6) 4. 1A Jones(11) 5. 93 Walton(8) 6. 3V Utz(7) 7. 31 McGarry(13) 8. 49 Elliott(14) 9. 38 Baker(2) 10. 55 Clemons(15) 11. 48 Brown(10) 12. 5M Arnold(1) 13. 75 Blank(5) 14. 11C Carroll(9) 15. Muths(12)