Hebing wins ESS Summer Shootout at Rolling Wheels Raceway

ess 2011 empire super sprints

ess 2011 empire super sprintsFrom Mike Mallett

Elbridge, NY — (July 3, 2012) — Chuck Hebing picked up the victory on Tuesday night at Rolling Wheels Raceway Park after apparent winner Jessica Zemken was disqualified for coming up light on the scales. It was Hebing’s second Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) 25-lap A-Main event triumph of the 2012 season.

Hebing, of Ontario, N.Y., is a multi-time winner at the big five-eighths mile facility and he was happy to take home the $2,200 top prize as part of the Universal American, AKS Firearms Top Gun NCY Tour. The Sprint Car Summer Shootout brought to you by V&V Construction saw a big crowd on hand despite mother nature’s best effort to cancel the event.

“The good thing about the club is that they stick with the rules,” said Hebing. “It’s a darn shame she (Zemken) lost a race for a few pounds or whatever the number was but that’s why we have rules. We have a zero tolerance policy in place so no one is shown any favoritism. It’s good for us after we made some mistakes on the setup of the car.”

Patrick Vigneault started on the pole of the feature and he quickly assumed command at the drop of the green flag over Mike Stelter who started on the outside front row.

Vigneault was the race leader when a red flag came out on lap three when Michael Parent, Bryan Howland and Shawn Donath all came together in the second turn. Howland and Parent each got upside down but all drivers were okay. Parent and Howland were unable to continue.

When action resumed, Vigneault led the way while Hebing advanced from the fifth starting position to take the lead on lap five. Vigneault had elected to run the bottom and Hebing blasted by him on the out the outside.

On lap 12 the caution was displayed again as Cory Sparks slowed and stopped in turn four. This placed Zemken alongside Hebing for the restart. At the green Hebing again held the lead.

Just two laps later Zemken powered by Hebing for the top spot as they exited the second turn as she ran the bottom with Hebing on the outside.

Hebing attempted to track her down over the course of the closing laps but it was to no avail as Zemken proved to be too strong on the inside groove.

In post race technical inspection it was found that Zemken’s mount was light on the scales and Hebing was declared the winner.

“I’ve been fortunate to win here a lot in the past,” said Hebing. “We won this race last year with a real fast car. Tonight we had a fast car, it wasn’t good as the other ones I’ve had here but in the end I guess a win is a win.”

Hebing was followed to the checkered flag by Tim Kelly, of Rock Stream, N.Y., in second the second position.

“We’ve been working real hard running all over to try and get a little more speed out of our car,” said Kelly after the A-Main. “It’s been working pretty good and I think we are getting there.”

Long-time ESS campaigner, Doug Emery, came in third. He was extremely happy especially since he held off series point leader Justin Barger on the final lap.

“I really wanted a top ten finish tonight,” said Emery. “I can’t say enough about how great this night is. I do know I need to work out bit more, the last five laps I was just hanging on. It was fun though and running with Justin Barger at the end and then beating him was huge.”

Barger, of Montrose, N.Y., held on to his point advantage with a fourth place finish after he started thirteenth. Brewerton, N.Y., native, Jason Barney started ninth and ended up completing the top five aboard his familiar #87

Rounding out the top ten were Vigneault, Mike Stelter, Lance Yonge, Shawn Donath and Blake Breen.

ESS/Rolling Wheels Notes: ESS’ biggest car count thus far in 2012 at a total of 38 came out to celebrate the Nation’s birthday…Making first starts in 2012 were Breen, Howland, veteran Bobby Podolak, Bruce DeWick and Erica Bell…Paul Habeck was a flip victim during he heat event but walked away unharmed…Next up on the Lucas Oil Tour is the SUNY Canton Weekend this Friday and Saturday at Mohawk International Raceway and Can-Am Motorsports Park. Both events will pay $2000 to win.

V&V Construction A-Main – Chuck Hebing ($2200), Tim Kelly, Doug Emery, Justin Barger, Jason Barney, Patrick Vigneault, Mike Stelter, Lance Yonge, Shawn Donath, Blake Breen, Matt Tanner, Paul Kinney, Tommy Wickham, Jeff Cook, Charlie Donk, Etienne Girard, Joe Trenca, Steve Collins, Kevin Ward Jr., Sam Reakes IV., Jeff VanDusen, Cory Sparks, John Wight, Michael Parent, Bryan Howland. Jessica Zemken..DQ Weight

Did Not Qualify – Kyle Dutcher, Dave Wickham, Glenn Styres, Dain Naida, Erica Bell, Bruce DeWick, Bobby Podolak, Kory Gurney, Steve Hutchinson Jr., Jared Fink, Dylan Swiernik, Paul Habeck.

Car Mate Custom Built Trailers Heat 1 – Zemken, Barney, Reakes IV, Barger, Parent.
Car Mate Custom Built Trailers Heat 2 – Yonge, Collins, Stelter, T. Wickham, Donk
Car Mate Custom Built Trailers Heat 3 – Vigneault, VanDusen, Emery, Wight, Howland
Car Mate Custom Built Trailers Heat 4 – Hebing, Cook, Kelly, Donath, Ward Jr.
M&W Aluminum Products/Cobra Coaches Dash – Zemken
B-Main – Sparks, Breen, Girard, Kinney.
Provisionals – Tanner, Trenca.

Westward Painting Company Halfway – Hebing $100
Lee’s Repair Auto and Truck – Tanner (13 pos.) $50
Ohsweken Speedway Winners Bonus – Hebing $50
Fondations 55 Pick 5 – Barney $50
North Eastern Pool and Spa Power Pick – Howland, Sparks $50
Car Mate Custom Built Trailers – Yonge, Vigneault, Hebing $25

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Le Groupe Ultra, SUNY Canton, Universal American, Hoosier Racing Tires, Fondations 4 Saisons, Cobra Coaches, Westward Painting Company, Mach 1 Chassis, Lee’s Repair Auto and Truck, Fondations 55, Eric Varin Roofing, North Eastern Pool and Spa, Car Mate Trailers, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Ohsweken Speedway, Northwood 2 Construction/Lasalle Motorsports, AKS Firearms, Jasmin Peloquin Sport, 730 Truck Stop, Riverside Bar and Grill, FX Chevy and many, many associate sponsors!!