McClelland claims sixth of year in Trial-Way “358” Sprints

Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Tease trail-wayFrom Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA — (September 13, 2013) — Again this year, the battle for the Trail-Way “358” sprint car track title will go down to the final week.

All-time Trail-Way winner Brad McClelland made sure of that by coming from ninth starting spot to claim his sixth win of the year and another hard-charger award on Friday the 13th.

“I’m the most superstitious person here,” quipped McClelland upon exiting the Rucker Computer Solutions/Don Beard Racing Engines/Moose Blocks #6R in victory lane, “I clipped the 30 car when he got out of shape on turns three and four, and then barely got by the 4 and 10 cars when they got together on the backstretch. We are lucky to be here.”

Polesitter Zach Euculano led the first seven laps until Cris Eash spun off turn four into the infield. Eash rejoined the field, and came through to cross fourth at the end, moving past the absent Tim Wagaman into third in the season-long point series.

Isaac Sneeringer grabbed the lead on the eighth-lap restart, a fraction of a lap before Eucalano, fourth-place Dwight Leppo, and sixth-place Mike Bittinger all got together on the backstretch, bringing out another caution with Sneeringer on the point. By that time, seventh-staring Jeff Rohrbaugh and McClelland were up to second and third.

As Sneeringer continued to lead, McClelland drove around Rohrbaugh for second on lap 12.

Two laps later, McClelland grabbed the lead from Sneeringer, just before another caution flag came out for a spinning Shane Hoff in turn two.

McClelland and Sneeringer ran one-two the rest of the way, with Rohrbaugh hanging on to the points lead with a third-place finish. McClelland’s win closed him to within 16 points entering next Friday’s Trone Outdoor Advertising Championship, the final “358” sprint show of the year.
Fifth through tenth were invader Colby Womer, Bittinger, Randy Whisler, Cody Fletcher, and Matt Findley, and Hoff.
Heats for the 15 “358” sprint cars were won by Rohrbaugh and McClelland.

David Holbrook drove under polesitter and race-long leader Colton Laughman on a last-lap restart to claim his second win of the year in the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature.
Laughman settled for a disappointing second-place finish, followed by Bo Gordon, Travis Esh, and Tyler Esh.
Jim Young’s sixth-place finish was just good enough for a one-point season-long championship over Holbrook and four points better than Tyler Esh.
Heats for the 13 micros were won by Travis Esh and Holbrook.

Dan Furman won his fifth of the year and secured a 2013 track title in the 20-lap street stock feature. He swapped the lead with teammate Craig Wagaman four times between laps two and 20, with Wagaman riding his rear bumper down the front stretch to the checkered.
Travis Horan, Larry Landis, and Timothy Hahn completed the top five.
Heats for the 14 street stocks were won by Bill Foster (who entered the final points race as the points leader but dropped out with a flat tire during the feature) and Furman.

Matt Chronister closed to within 11 points of Cory Weishaar with one race to go by claiming his fourth win of the year in the 15-lap limited stock feature.
Chronister started ninth and took the lead from Shannon Weaver on lap 13. Weishaar, trying to hold on to his points lead, started 12th and came from fourth to second in the final turns.
Third through fifth were Ricky Weaver, Jr., Shannon Weaver, and Terry Hartlaub.
Heats for the 27 limited stocks were won by Kory Shorb, Ricky Weaver, Jr., and Matt Chronister.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.

Trail-Way Speedway September 13, 2013

358 Sprints

Feature (25 Laps)
1. 6R Brad McClelland; 2. 19Z Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 45 Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 17E Cris Eash; 5. 19 Colby Womer; 6. 12 Mike Bittinger; 7. 64 Randy Whisler; 8. 66A Cody Fletcher; 9. 28F Matt Findley; 10. 69 Shane Hoff; 11. 5O Brian Allman ; 12. 76 Douglas Deeds; 13. 10 Zach Euculano. 14. 4 Dwight Leppo; 15. 30 Seth Kearchner. No time.
Lap Leaders- Zach Euculano (1-8); Isaac Sneeringer (9-13); Brad McClelland (14-20)

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)
1. 45 Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 4 Dwight Leppo; 3. 30 Seth Kearchner; 4. 19Z Isaac Sneeringer; 5. 10 Zach Euculano; 6. 5O Brian Allman; 7. 28F Matt Findley; 8. 76 Douglas Deeds. . Time – 2:23.22.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)
1. 6R Brad McClelland; 2.17E Cris Eash ; 3.19 Colby Womer; 4.17E Cris Each; 5.69 Shane Hoff; 6.66A Cody Fletcher ; 7. 64 Randy Whisler. Time – 2:22.69