Rohrbaugh Wins at Trail-Way

From Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (May 30, 2014) — It didn’t take Jeff Rohrbaugh long to find victory lane at Trail-Way Speedway.

Making his first Trail-Way start of the season, Rohrbaugh drew the pole and led every lap of the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature.

“You’re the tenth person that told me you were glad to see me, so there are at least ten liars here tonight!” quipped Rohrbaugh to track announcer Scott Hockensmith upon exiting his Travis Racing Engines/Brother’s Pizza #45 in victory lane.

“We weren’t planning to run here this year, but we missed some races and wanted to give our sponsors some exposure,” said Rohrbaugh, “We’re going to pick up some races, so hopefully we’ll be back here.”

Though he led every lap, Rohrbaugh received pressure from both Robbie Kendall and Brad McClelland during the race.  First it was Kendall, who started fifth and assumed second when Dwight Leppo and Cody Fletcher made contact and spun on the backstretch of the first lap.  Leppo chased Rohrbaugh for 14 laps before ninth-starting McClelland caught Kendall for second on lap 15.

But four laps later, McClelland dropped off the pace with motor problems, brought out the caution, and went to the pits, handing second back over to Kendall.

“I got a little lazy there and had the wing too far back,” said Rohrbaugh, “It’s good we got a caution so I could move the wing up.  I don’t know if I would have passed anyone, but they didn’t pass me, either.”

Randy Whisler, Seth Kearchner, and Denny Gross completed the top five.

Rohrbaugh also won the lone qualifier for the nine sprint cars on hand.


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 45 Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 55 Robert Kendall; 3. 64 Randy Whisler; 4. 30 Seth Kearchner; 5. 2 Dennis Gross; 6. 19D Wyatt Hinkle; 7. 4 Dwight Leppo; 8. 6R Brad McClelland; 9. 66A Cody Fletcher. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Jeff Rohrbaugh (1-25)


Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 45 Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 6R Brad McClelland; 3. 64 Randy Whisler; 4. 66A Cody Fletcher; 5. 55 Robert Kendall; 6. 4 Dwight Leppo; 7. 2 Dennis Gross; 8. 30 Seth Kearchner; 9. 19D Wyatt Hinkle. No Time.