Kendall Wins at Trail-Way

Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Tease trail-wayFrom Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (June 20, 2014) — Robbie Kendall held off a charging Brad McClelland to score his second win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

Kendall took the lead from his outside front row starting spot and led every lap of the race, despite late-race pressure from four-time winner McClelland, who closed in when Kendall got boxed in behind lapped traffic in the closing stages.

“I got behind those lapped cars, and didn’t know where they were going,” said the Catonsville, MD driver upon exiting his Turning Stone Resort & Casino/Vermeer Mid-Atlantic/Wurtzer’s Garage #55 in victory lane, “I knew Brad was coming. I looked up at the scoreboard and saw he was second by lap six, and I thought here he comes.”

McClelland, who was scheduled to start 12th but started eighth when a few cars opted for the rear, was the event’s hard charger, passing Denny Gross for second on the sixth lap.

By that time, McClelland was quarter-lap behind the leader, and closed within a few carlengths by the checkered flag.

“We destroyed one last week,” said Kendall, “It was just a racing incident. But it’s great to come back from that.”

The official time in the non-stop race was 6 minutes, 11 seconds.

Isaac Sneeringer came from sixth starting spot to finish third, with Gross and Dwight Leppo completing the top five.

Heats for the 12 “358” sprinters were won by McClelland and Sneeringer.
358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 55-Robbie Kendall; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland(Hard Charger); 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 2-Denny Gross; 5. 4-Dwight Leppo; 6. 30-Seth Kearchner; 7. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 8. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 9. 90-Tyler Templin(DNF); 10. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle(DNF); 11. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF); 12. 64-Randy Whisler(DNF). Time 6:11.00.

Lap Leaders- Robbie Kendall (1-25).

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 55-Robert Kendall; 4. 10-Zach Euculano; 5. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 6. 64-Randy Whisler(DNF). Time 2:22.50.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 2-Dennis Gross; 5. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 6. 90-Tyler Templin(DNF). No Time.