McClelland Wins at Trail-Way

Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Tease trail-wayFrom Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (September 12, 2014) — Brad McClelland took home all the prizes in Friday night’s 30-lap Trone Outdoor Advertising “358” sprint car championship at Trail-Way Speedway.

The Westminster, MD superstar came from eighth starting spot to claim the hard-charger award, win his ninth race of the year, and claim another Trail-Way track title.

And again, the McClelland driving clinic made it look much easier than it was.

“I was getting loose and the car was bottoming out,” said McClelland in victory lane.

Not to mention the fact that he got together with Isaac Sneeringer while racing for the lead in turn two of lap 21, rolling over the right rear wheel of Sneeringer and bouncing off the wall.

Sneeringer came to a stop in turn three with a flat right rear, bringing out the only caution flag of the event. But Sneeringer’s throttle was also stuck, and he dropped from the event.

Sneeringer’s misfortune ended a night which saw him come from sixth starting spot to the lead by lap two. He was nearly a half-lap ahead of the rest of the field by the time he reached lapped traffic on lap eight.

Though McClelland saved it and assumed the lead for the lap 21 restart, his right rear tire went down in victory lane, and needed towed back to the pits.

“I knew lapped traffic would be a factor,” said McClelland, “But I was happy to chase him down. Heck, at one point I didn’t even see him!”

“I want to thank John Trone for sponsoring this race,” McClelland continued, “He’s sponsored a big race every year since the 358’s started running here.”

Dwight Leppo started fifth and crossed second, with seventh-starting Jeff Rohrbaugh, Cody Fletcher, and rookie Tyler Buchenauer rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 15 “358” sprint cars were won by Rohrbaugh and McClelland.

Trail-Way Speedway September 12, 2014


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (30 Laps)

1. 6R-Brad McClelland(HC); 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 6. 45H-Jeffrey Halligan; 7. 64-Randy Whisler 8. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 9. 00S-Shane Smith; 10. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 11. 30-Seth Kearchner; 12. 1-Tim Wagaman II; 13. 10-Zach Euculano; 14. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 15. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer(DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Wyatt Hinkle (1); Isaac Sneeringer (2-20); Brad McClelland (21-30).

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 64-Randy Whisler; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 6. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 7. 1-Tim Wagaman II; 8. 30-Seth Kearchner. Time 2:31.03.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 45H-Jeffrey Halligan; 3. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 4. 00S-Shane Smith; 5. 4-Dwight Leppo; 6. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 7. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF). Time 2:25.94.