Jake Brown Wins SOS Feature at Brighton

Jake Brown Rod Henderson/CanadianRacer.com

By Tommy Goudge, with files from Loree Ferrell and Nicole Kleinsteuber

BRIGHTON, Ont. (July 27, 2019) – Jake Brown dominated the 25 lap Southern Ontario Sprints feature race at Brighton Speedway on Saturday night. The 24-year-old from Brantford took advantage of his front row starting spot and went on to claim the second SOS tour win of his career.

Jake Brown and Chris Jones made up the front row for the A-Feature, but the yellow flag flew for a spin by Dillan Sliter before the first lap was complete. Another caution period came when Shawn Sliter spun on lap two and collected Kyle Phillips, Frank Baranowski, and Paul Pekkonen. Phillips and Pekkonen were both done for the night with front end damage, while Shawn Sliter fought an ill-handling car and later spun again before retiring from the race. Baranowski had more trouble when he spun on the frontstretch; he was able to keep the engine running, but the yellow flag had already been thrown.

Jake Brown easily pulled away from the field after each restart and was never seriously challenged, but behind him Cory Turner, Mitch Brown, and Ryan Turner diced for the runner-up spot for nearly the entire race. Outside the top five Holly Porter, Rick Wilson, and Chris Jones diced for position, while Tyler Rand, Mike Ferrell, and Dillan Sliter did the same while trying to chase down Warren Mahoney for the 10th position.

Jake Brown won in dominant fashion, finishing more than four seconds ahead of the field. Cory Turner prevailed for the runner-up spot, followed by Mitch Brown, Cory Turner, and a hard-charging Aaron Turkey who moved up from row six to round out the top five. Jamie Turner, Holly Porter, Rick Wilson, Chris Jones, and Warren Mahoney came home with top ten finishes.

“It was a fun race,” said Jake Brown in victory lane. “Lapped traffic came into play a bit. It was a great track; really slicked up with a nice top.”

Turner had won both previous SOS races held at Brighton in 2019, but came up short in his attempt for a three-peat.

“It was a good race,” Turner said afterwards. “Jake was just better than us tonight. Hats off to them; they’ve been making gains. Nothing to hang our heads on. Two wins last two times here and second tonight. Great points night for us.”

Mitch Brown, Holly Porter, and Ryan Turner claimed heat race wins, while Shawn Sliter won the Dash for Cash presented by Naylor Dock Systems, Docks Are Us, and Four Points Sheraton Hotels.

-Feature winner Jake Brown drew the number four after the race, awarding a brand new American Racer tire from Grisdale Racing Products to fourth place finisher Ryan Turner. One more winner will be drawn at an SOS race this season, with previous recipients ineligible to win again.

-The Southern Ontario Sprints will return to action on Friday, August 16 at Ohsweken Speedway for round seven of the 2019 season. Race time is 7:30pm. For additional event information, visit www.ohswekenspeedway.ca



Entry List
1 Holly Porter – Delhi, Ontario
10 Mitch Brown – Brantford, Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
11j Chris Jones – Picton, Ontario
13 Cory Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
15 Mike Ferrell – London, Ontario
21 Kyle Phillips – Grand Island, New York
22 Shawn Sliter – Port Colborne, Ontario
25 Warren Mahoney – Lefroy, Ontario
42w Rick Wilson – Joyceville, Ontario
66 Frank Baranowski – Mount Hope, Ontario
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ontario
71s Dillan Sliter – Port Colborne, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, Ontario
1-10 Jake Brown – Brantford, Ontario

Heat Race 1 (Started) 8 laps – NT
1. 10 Mitch Brown (5), 2. 11 Jamie Turner (2), 3. 13 Cory Turner (3), / 4. 22 Shawn Sliter (4), 5. 15 Mike Ferrell (6), 6. 66 Frank Baranowski (1)

Heat Race 2 (Started) 8 laps – NT
1. 1 Holly Porter (2), 2. 1-10 Jake Brown (3), 3. 42w Rick Wilson (5), / 4. 68 Aaron Turkey (6), 5. 98 Paul Pekkonen (1), 6. 21 Kyle Phillips (4)

Heat Race 3 (Started) 8 laps – 2:01.665
1. 91 Ryan Turner (3), 2. 11j Chris Jones (4), 3. 25 Warren Mahoney (2), / 4. 71s Dillan Sliter (5), 5. DNF 84 Tyler Rand (1)

Dash For Cash (Started) 5 laps – 1:16.306
Presented by Naylor Dock Systems, Docks Are Us, and Four Points Sheraton Hotels
1. 22 Shawn Sliter (1), 2. 68 Aaron Turkey (2), 3. 98 Paul Pekkonen (5), 4. 71s Shawn Sliter (3), 5. 15 Mike Ferrell (4), DNS. 84 Tyler Rand (6)

A-Feature (Started) 25 laps – NT
1. 1-10 Jake Brown (1)
2. 13 Cory Turner (3)
3. 10 Mitch Brown (5)
4. 91 Ryan Turner (8)
5. 68 Aaron Turkey (11)
6. 11 Jamie Turner (9)
7. 1 Holly Porter (6)
8. 42w Rick Wilson (4)
9. 11j Chris Jones (2)
10. 25 Warren Mahoney (7)
11. 84 Tyler Rand (17)
12. 15 Mike Ferrell (13)
13. 71s Dillan Sliter (12)
14. 66 Frank Baranowski (15)
15. DNF 22 Shawn Sliter (10)
16. DNF 98 Paul Pekkonen (14)
17. DNF 21 Kyle Phillips (16)
A-Feature Lap Leaders – Jake Brown 1-25
Margin of Victory – 4.282 seconds
Hard Charger – Aaron Turkey +6
Grisdale Racing Products Tire Draw Winner – Ryan Turner

Up Next:
Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ontario – August 16, 2019