URC Makes 45-Year Return To Port Royal August 25

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – For the first time since June 1967, the United Racing Company Sprint Cars will race at Port Royal Speedway next Saturday, August 25 at 7:30 pm as part of Open Wheel Madness Night at the track also featuring 410 and 305 sprints.

The 1967 show was the only appearance by the URC circuit in its now 65-year history at the equally historic track.

New York driver Earl Halaquist, a URC champion, scored the Port Royal show back in 1967.

All area 358 sprint teams will be eligible to compete with the URC 360 sprints in the Port show.

The URC feature will pay $2,000 to win and $200 to start the event.

Currently, New Jersey’s Davie Franek leads the URC point standings over Robbie Stillwaggon and Randy West.

The URC appearance at the track will mark the return of area open wheel veteran Kramer Williamson of Palmyra to the track for competition for the first time in more years than most can remember.

Although a well-known area champion, Williamson has only garnered a pair of wins at the Juniata County oval, dating back to 1975 and 1978.

URC winners to date this season include Mark Smith, Tony Stewart (2), Josh Weller, JJ Grasso, Ed Aikin (2), Ryan Bohlke, Kevin Darling, Blane Heimbach and Bobby Breen.

Open Wheel Madness will be a blockbuster program at the track featuring three of the areas prime sprint car divisions, with the 305, 410 and URC 360 sprints in the house.

Adult general admission for the show is just $18 with students ages 12 – 18 admitted for just $5.

Gates for the show will open at 5 pm with racing slated for 7:30.

PRS 2012 – Racing into a new decade with a new attitude!
Port Royal Speedway