Hirst Wins Northwest Speedweek Event at Willamette

ASCS Northwest Region

From Ben Deatherage

Willamette, WA — (July 2, 2014) — It was a wild and crazy main event at Willamette Speedway as the Lebanon facility would host the fourth race of Speedweek Northwest on Wednesday July 2nd. A total of thirty-five cars, the most during Speedweek Northwest so far, were in attendance representing the states of Oregon, Washington, California, and Montana as well as the Canadian, including the provinces of British Columbia and Alberta, and New Zealand.

Grabbing the lead on the initial start was Kyle Hirst from Chico, California driving the Scott and Jason Finley owned Finley Farms/CLT Logging/Carlson Trucking/Rider Racing Engines #77 Maxim. Hirst would have no issues out in front as he set a rapid pace over the field and every time lapped traffic would come into the picture a caution would come out.

There would be a total of four stoppages during the main event, including two red flag incidents, and each restart Hirst would construct a decent lead. Hirst would master the final restart on lap twenty-one to lead the rest of the distance to win his second Speedweek Northwest of the season and third of his career. It would also be his fourth career series win since picking his initial one in July of 2010 at Sunset Speedway Park in Banks.

“It feels great to win and this is a testament to this team,” said a happy Kyle Hirst in victory lane, “they’ve been busting their butts getting this thing ready. We’ve got some luck on our side we drew the pole in the heat and got the one in the redraw for the main. The lapped traffic didn’t give us much trouble but it was still a great race.”

Finishing in the runner-up position was the Morrie Williams owned Ten Down Bowling of Roseburg/B.Z.E. Enterprises/Alviso Rock #0 Maxim of Bud Kaeding from Campbell, California followed by Chico, California’s Jonathan Allard in the Clyde and Marion Lamar owned Tri-C Machine/Butler Built Seats/Platinum Powdercoating/K&N Filters #3C Maxim in third. California drivers would make up the balance of the top five as drivers from the Golden State would place in the first seven positions. Mason Moore of Chico, California was fourth in his LRB Race Products/JRi Shocks/Moore Insurance/Rodgers Racing Engines #22M A.R.T. while fifth went to the Wright Process Systems/Larry Davis Farms/BR Motorsports/Elma Lanes #94 Maxim of Steven Tiner from Visalia, California.

Heat races were won by Bud Kaeding, Rutherford, California’s Rico Abreu in his Abreu Vineyards/Butler Built Seat/Alpine Star/XYZ Machine #24 A.R.T., Andy Forsberg from Auburn, California in the Cody Gaeney owned PTShocks.com/Autism Awareness/Norm Paul Water Hauling/Alturas Tire #01 KPC, Cottage Grove, Oregon native Colin Baker in the Hedge Carter owned Huddle Automotive Repair/Steelhouse Metal Roofing Supply/Oregon West RV/Hedge Carter Gutter Service/Astro Titanium #71 XXX, and Mitchell Faccinto from Hanford, California in the Stan Greenberg owned Western Metal Company/TSG Recycling & Disposal/Tom Ritz Racing Engines #37 KPC.

Winners in consolation feature action were Penngrove, California’s Chase Johnson driving for car owner Harley Dyke in the Lucas Oil Products/K&N Filters/Naake Suspension Specialists/Rodgers Racing Engines #5H Maxim and Kelly Miller from Lethbridge, Alberta in his Winmar Property Restorations/TriStarCars.ca/AMS Racing Engines #44 Schnee.

Speedweek Northwest will conclude at Cottage Grove Speedway on Friday July 4th and Saturday the 5th. For more information log on to www.ascsnorthwest.com.

Race Summary:
ASCS-Northwest Region Race #10/Speedweek Round #4
Wednesday July 2nd, 2014
Willamette Speedway
Lebanon, Oregon
A Feature: 1. 77-Kyle Hirst[1]; 2. 0-Bud Kaeding[2]; 3. 3C-Jonathan Allard[4]; 4. 22M-Mason Moore[10]; 5. 94-Steven Tiner[11]; 6. 24-Rico Abreu[8]; 7. 5H-Chase Johnson[17]; 8. 3-J.J. Hickle[16]; 9. 9R-Reece Goetz[19]; 10. 7N-Jared Peterson[12]; 11. 6A-Kyle Miller[14]; 12. 22-Garen Linder[5]; 13. 44-Kelly Miller[18]; 14. 55-Trey Starks[13]; 15. 72-Phil Dietz[20]; 16. 01-Andy Forsberg[7]; 17. 12-Jared Ridge[9]; 18. 71-Colin Baker[6]; 19. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson[15]; 20. 37-Mitchell Faccinto[3]

B Feature 1: 1. 5H-Chase Johnson[2]; 2. 9R-Reece Goetz[1]; 3. 4J-Allison Journey[4]; 4. 5R-Steve Reeves[6]; 5. 9A-Luke Didiuk[3]; 6. 71JR-Colby Carter[8]; 7. 70-Raquel Ivie[5]; DNS 3G-Garret Johnson; DNS 4-Jesse Thistle; DNS 68-Rob Held

B Feature 2: 1. 44-Kelly Miller[2]; 2. 72-Phil Dietz[1]; 3. W5-Jesse Williamson[4]; 4. 96-Greg Hamilton[3]; 5. 27DD-David Hoiness[6]; 6. 4B-Cale Brooke[5]; 7. 28B-Brenton Nugent; DNS 26F-Shane Forte; DNS 16-Nick Tomlinson

Heat 1: 1. 0-Bud Kaeding[1]; 2. 12-Jared Ridge[3]; 3. 6A-Kyle Miller[6]; 4. 72-Phil Dietz[5]; 5. 9A-Luke Didiuk[7]; 6. 4B-Cale Brooke[2]; DNS 3G-Garret Johnson

Heat 2: 1. 24-Rico Abreu[2]; 2. 3C-Jonathan Allard[4]; 3. 9R-Reece Goetz[3]; 4. 7N-Jared Peterson[7]; 5. 28B-Brenton Nugent[6]; 6. W5-Jesse Williamson[5]; 7. 68-Rob Held[1]

Heat 3: 1. 01-Andy Forsberg[2]; 2. 22M-Mason Moore[3]; 3. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson[4]; 4. 3-J.J. Hickle[6]; 5. 4J-Allison Journey[5]; 6. 70-Raquel Ivie[7]; 7. 16-Nick Tomlinson[1]

Heat 4: 1. 71-Colin Baker[1]; 2. 55-Trey Starks[2]; 3. 77-Kyle Hirst[7]; 4. 5H-Chase Johnson[3]; 5. 26F-Shane Forte[4]; 6. 4-Jesse Thistle[5]; 7. 27DD-David Hoiness[6]

Heat 5: 1. 37-Mitchell Faccinto[1]; 2. 22-Garen Linder[4]; 3. 94-Steven Tiner[5]; 4. 44-Kelly Miller[3]; 5. 96-Greg Hamilton[2]; 6. 5R-Steve Reeves[6]; 7. 71JR-Colby Carter[7]

Current ASCS-Northwest Region Points (Top Ten):
1. 71-Colin Baker 1196; 2. 3-J.J. Hickle 1125; 3. 9R-Reece Goetz 1090; 4. 77-Kyle Hirst 1088; 5. 68-Rob Held 1007; 6. 22-Garen Linder 966; 7. 21W-Vern Wheeler Jr. 924; 8. 16-Nick Tomlinson 830; 9. 7N-Jared Peterson 802; 10. 55-Trey Starks 765

Current Speedweek Northwest Points (Top Ten):
1. 77-Kyle Hirst 577; 2. 24-Rico Abreu 549; 3. 71-Colin Baker 493; 4. 3-J.J. Hickle 453; 5. 22M-Mason Moore 439; 6. 01-Andy Forsberg 433; 7. 5H-Chase Johnson 428; 8. 55-Trey Starks 425; 9. 94-Steven Tiner 423; 10. 22-Garen Linder 416