Aaron Pierce Takes “Butch Dowker Memorial” at Spartan

Aaron Pierce Bob Buffenbarger photo

MASON, Mich. (August 14, 2015) – Aaron Piece of Daleville, Ind. won the inaugural Butch Dowker Memorial presented by Courtesy Car & Truck at Spartan (Mich.) Speedway on Friday, August 14. Pierce advanced from the sixth starting position to take the lead at lap 12 after passing Ryan Gillenwater for the top spot.

At the finish of the 30-lap feature, Pierce finished 4.305 seconds ahead of Derek Snyder, who made a late-race pass on Gillenwater for the runner-up finish. Gillenwater finished third with Kyle Edwards and Jeff Bloom rounding out the top five.

“The car was on a rail, it would run on the bottom. Everybody was having a hard time pushing coming off turn 2. Once I could get underneath those guys I got down the straightaway better than them. I just had to pick my way through the traffic,” said race winner Aaron Pierce. “Evan Jackson, Chris Garrett and Rusty work so hard, they never stop. It’s great to have them as part of this team. Thank you also to Sam Pierce Chevrolet, Valvoline and everybody that helps this race team,” added Pierce.

After a three-wide salute to the late Butch Dowker, the feature began with Derek Snyder and Ryan Gillenwater leading the field to the green flag. The yellow flag waved immediately when Kevin Feeney was involved in a chain reaction incident that sent the No. 61 spinning off turn 4. He was unable to restart.

On the second attempt of the start, Snyder got the initial jump, but Gillenwater used the outside lane to take control of the 20-car starting field. In the early stages Kyle Edwards got around Jeff Bloom for third spot as Pierce started his charge to the front making passes on Bloom and Edwards.
At the 10-lap mark, Gillenwater held the top spot with Pierce up to second with Snyder in third. Two laps later Pierce completed the race-winning pass.

During the final 18 laps, Pierce used patience as he worked through heavy traffic on the tight quarter-mile oval. With 10 laps remaining, he constructed a full straightaway advance while Gillenwater and Snyder battled for second spot.

During the final laps, Snyder moved into second, finishing behind Pierce at the finish. Third went to Gilllenwater followed by Edwards and Bloom. Sixth-place was Jason Blonde with Doug Dietsch, 18th-place starter Quitin Saayman, Geoff Kaiser and Mike Astraukas rounded out the top 10.

In preliminary action, heat race victories were earned by Aaron Pierce, Gary Sherman and John Turnbull Jr. In Hamilton Trucking Qualifications, Aaron Pierce posted the fastest lap of the 22 cars on hand with a lap of 11.498 seconds at 78.274 mph.

The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints return to Baer Field Speedway in Ft. Wayne, Ind. on Saturday, August 15.

For more series information on the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints, visit www.SuperSprints.com.


Aaron Pierce Bob Buffenbarger photo
Aaron Pierce
Bob Buffenbarger photo




1. 26 Aaron Pierce, 2. 71R Derek Snyder. 3. 45 Ryan Gillenwater, 4. 11 Kyle Edwards, 5. 26 Jeff Bloom, 6. Jason Blonde, 7. 0 Doug Diestsch, 8. Quintin Saayman, 9. Geoff Kaiser, 10. 3A Mike Astrauskas, 11. 12 John Turnbull, 12. 37 Gary Sherman, 13. 75c Jerry Caryer, 14. 11G Tom Geren, 15. 31 Don Hamilton, 16. Kyle Stepke, 17. 2 Matt Kinzinger, 18. 61R Curt Schumaker, 19. 31 Phil Rutledge, 20. 1R Chris Randolph