Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Back into Action in Canada with a Visit to Merrittville Saturday

2015 ESS Empire Super Sprints Top Story


By Dean Reynolds2015 ESS Empire Super Sprints Top Story


SYRACUSE, NY – After a weekend off, the traveling road show of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) is back into action this Saturday with a trip to the beautiful Merrittville Speedway.  The event in Canada will pay $2,000 to win with $275 just to take the green flag.


After the double weekend of Mohawk and Utica-Rome, Jason Barney has taken over the point lead in what he hopes to be his first ever ESS Championship.  Barney will lead the ESS brigade which will also be made up of top stars Steve Poirier, Paul Kinney, Parker Evans, Matt Tanner, Jeff Cook, Paulie Colagiovanni, Dave Axton, Chad Miller, Tim Axton, Shawn Donath, Chris Jones, Mike Stelter, Chuck Hebing, Brandon Kidd and more are expected to be on hand.


What makes the annual visit fun and exciting are the visits from the local sprint cars of Ohsweken and Southern Ontario Sprints. Drivers expected to be on hand are Cory, Jamie and Ryan Turner, Glenn Styres, Keith Dempster, Tom Huppunen, Mitch Brown, Dylan Westbrook, Tom Huppunen, Dave Dykstra, Alex Hill, Tyler Hendricks, Ryan Susice,  Mikey Kruchka and others.


Beard Sewer and Drain backs the timed hot laps, Car Mate Trailers brings you the heats, Doc Magilligan’s is sponsoring the Cobra Coaches Dash all leading up to the 25 lap, $2,000 to start Mach 1 Chassis A-Main.


America’s true race cars invading Canada…it will be fun as the Merrittville Speedway plays host. Since 1984, ESS has visited the 1/3 mile, D-Shaped oval and this Saturday it will see the tradition continued of Excitement Guaranteed!


Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Merrittville Speedway


June 13, 1984 Bob Cain
Aug. 10, 1985 John Brutcher
June 21, 1986 John Brutcher
June 20, 1987 Jeff Taylor
June 18, 1988 John Brutcher
Aug. 26, 1989 Mal Lane
June 16, 1990 Kim Gagliardi
Aug. 25, 1990 Mal Lane
Aug. 24, 1991 Bobby Parrow and John Birosh
June 13, 1992 John Birosh
Aug. 22, 1992 John Birosh
June 12, 1993 Tim Kelly
Aug. 21, 1993 Lance Yonge
July 9, 1994 Tom Taber
Aug. 27, 1994 Tom Taber
June 17, 1995 Mike Woodring
Aug. 19, 1995 Tom Taber
June 15, 1996 Craig Lane
Aug. 17, 1996 Mike Woodring
June 14, 1997 Bobby Parrow
Aug. 16, 1997 Mike Lauterborn
July 11, 1998 Dan Kaszubinski
Aug. 15, 1998 Scott Holcomb
Sept. 19, 1998 Mike Woodring
June 12, 1999 Scott Holcomb
Aug. 14, 1999 Rob Dietrick
Sept. 18, 1999 Doug Emery
June 10, 2000 Rob Dietrick
Aug. 26, 2000 R.C. Faigle
Sept. 16, 2000 Kris Dow
June 16, 2001 Mike Woodring
June 29, 2002 Mike Woodring
June 26, 2004 Dan Kaszubinski
June 25, 2005 Lance Yonge
June 27, 2007 Bubby Kerrick
Sept. 12, 2009 Chuck Hebing
June 30, 2012 Lance Yonge
June 29, 2013 Paul Kinney
June 28, 2014 Steve Poirier



Merrittville Speedway – June 25 – Racing at 7:05

Website –

Facebook –

Twitter – @Merrittville


For more Information on the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints:
Twitter: @ESSprints


Android App: Empire Super Sprints


The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Mach 1 Chassis, Einstein Construction, SUNY Canton, NAPA Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires, Donath Motorworx, Insinger Performance, Car Mate Trailers, Fondations 4 Saisons, Beard Sewer and Drain, Cobra Coaches, Westward Painting Company, Fondations 55, E&V Energy, Panther Frameworx, 911 Restoration, YorkMont Auctions, Engler Machine and Tool, Northwood 2 Construction, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Lacaillade Masonry, FX Chevy, ASI Racewear and many, many associate sponsors!!