2016 Myers Racing Engines URSS National Finale at the Jerry Soderberg Memorial

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story

From URSSURSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story

The final race in the 2016 Myers Racing Engines National Points has the Rebels headed back to Dodge CityRacewayPark for the fourth annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial this Saturday Night. Current DCRP Points Leader Taylor Velasquez out of Turpin, Oklahoma will be going for his third Jerry Soderberg Memorial win in a row, current IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Series Rookie of the Year points leader Zach Blurton captured the inaugural event win in 2013.

So far in the ten races of the Myers Racing Engines National Championship there have been six different Winners with Luke Cranston taking three feature victories. Zach Blurton and Brian Herbert each garnered a pair of wins in the 2016 season. Jason Martin, Steven Richardson and J.D. Johnson each picking up single wins this season.

Luke Cranston holds a comfortable lead over second place Jed Werner. Werner holds a slim fourteen point lead over past URSS National Champion Brian Herbert who both used strong runs at the last National Points race in Long dale Oklahoma to leap frog Zach Blurton who currently holds down the fourth spot. McCook Nebraska driver Darren Berry is in the fifth spot, Liberal’s Steven Richardson sixth and ArcadiaOklahoma’s Ty Williams is in seventh spot.

There are five points’ battles in positions eight through twenty that separated by less twenty six points or less that will be decided by who qualifies for the Feature event Saturday Night. Positions eight through ten are twenty points apart with Aaron Ploussard, Jeff Radcliffe and Austin Mclean battling for positions. Positions eleven through thirteen John Webster, Jeremy Huish and JD Johnson are separated by twenty six points.

Mike Peters and Koby Walters are eighteen points apart for positions fourteenth and fifteenth place. The closest battle is between Keefe Hemel, Craig Pecha and Lance Davis as they are separated by a mere twelve points for positions sixteen through eighteenth. The battle for nineteenth and twentieth place has Tracey Hill and Nate Berry twenty four points apart.

So come on out to Dodge City Raceway Park this Saturday night and cheer on your favorite driver as they duke it out for the final time in the 2016 racing season. Racing action begins at 7:00 pm with IMCA Modified, IMCA Sport Modified, IMCA Stock Cars, and IMCA Hobby Stocks will be joining the URSS/DCRP Sprint Cars. General admission for the September 24 Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event is just $20 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.

For all of your informational needs visit the United Rebel Sprint Series on Facebook or check out the Official URSS website at www.unitedrebelsprintseries.com for schedule updates, rules, race recaps, driver info and much more. The United Rebel Sprint Series – “Having More Fun Than The Law Allows!”