Hanover, PA (04/2/10) –Brad McClelland moved alongside Jeff Rohrbaugh at the top of the all-time Trail-Way win list in Friday’s season opener for the 358 sprints Friday night.

But he wouldn’t have, had Rohrbaugh not clipped a lapped car and flipped in turns one and two with three laps to go.

A redraw for the feature saw McClelland start on the pole and lead the first 15 laps. But Rohrbaugh, who started eighth, advanced through the field to dive under McClelland for the race lead in heavy lapped traffic entering turn one of lap 16.

Rohrbaugh, McClelland, and 14th-starting Billy Dietrich ran away from the field over the next six laps before Rohrbaugh and Dale Hammaker flipped simultaneously in turns one and two of lap 23. Both drivers were uninjured. The leaders were so far ahead of the rest of the field that Hammaker was running seventh at the time just in front of Rohrbaugh.

It was the second red flag of the event. Austin Reed vaulted over the first-turn catch fence in a spectacular crash while running third on lap three. He was also uninjured.

The Rohrbaugh crash put McClelland back in the lead with three laps to go. By that time, there were only five cars on the lead lap.

McClelland drove away to his 21st career win at the T-W, moving him back into a first-place tie with Rohrbaugh on the all-time win list.

“I didn’t think I could get through lapped traffic and Jeff did,” said McClelland upon exiting his B&D Truck Hoist #6, “But I guess he was a little impatient, and I got lucky to restart with the lead.”

“We had some issues with lapped traffic,” continued McClelland, “but in a couple of weeks, they’ll all be fast.”

Troy Becker, racing for the first time in three years, crossed third, with seventh-starting Tim Wagaman fourth and Keith Prutzman fifth. Sixth through tenth were 21st-starting Randy Davis, Jessie Morrison, Mike Bittinger, Scott Fisher (in first ever 358 sprint car race), and 20th-starting Peter Bartley.

Heat winners for the 21 “358” sprinters on hand were won by Wagaman, Brian Bruckner, and Joe Trone, Jr.

Trail-Way Speedway April 2, 2010


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 98B-Troy Becker; 4. 1-Tim Wagaman; 5. 28-Keith Prutzman; 6. 98-Randy Davis, Jr.; 7. 18J-Jessie Morrison; 8. 00-Mike Bittinger; 9. 21-Scott Fisher; 10. 36T-Peter Bartley; 11. 27-Brian Suchy; 12. 7V-Jeff Rohrbaugh(DNF); 13. 66-Dale Hammaker(DNF); 14. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF); 15. 59T-Tim Stallings(DNF); 16. 66B-Cory Brockman(DNF); 17. 17G-George Streaker, Jr.(DNF); 18. 10W-Brian Bruckner(DNF); 19. 34-Austin Reed(DNF); 20. 64-Randy Whisler(DNF); 21. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.(DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Brad McClelland (1-15, 23-25), Jeff Rohrbaugh (16-22).

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 1-Tim Wagaman; 2. 66-Dale Hammaker; 3. 10-Zach Euculano; 4. 34-Austin Reed; 5. 27-Brian Suchy; 6. 66B-Cory Brockman; 7. 59T-Tim Stallings(DNF). No Time.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 10W-Brian Bruckner; 2. 6-Brad McClelland; 3. 64-Randy Whisler; 4. 7V-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 5. 8-Bill Dietrich; 6. 17G-Georger Streaker, Jr.; 7. 36T-Peter Bartley. Time 2:24.80.

Heat 3 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 2. 98B-Troy Becker; 3. 18J-Jessie Morrison; 4. 28-Keith Prutzman; 5. 21-Scott Fisher; 6. 00-Mike Bittinger(DNF); 7. 98-Randy Davis, Jr.(DNF). No Time.