USAC Regional Midget Series
USAC Regional Midget Series

From Dick Jordan

Tom Bigelow of Winchester, Ind. will serve as the honorary grand marshal Wednesday night when the USAC Regional Midgets, Midwest Ford Focuses, Midwest Young Guns and Mopar .25 Midgets return to the 1/5-mile paved Indianapolis Speedrome.

Bigelow, who won the 1978 USAC National Sprint and 1984 USAC National Midget championships, was the 1982 Indianapolis Speedrome Midget titlist and is the all-time leading USAC Sprint race winner with 52 career victories. Bigelow’s resume includes 10 wins at the Speedrome.

Biigelow is one of a select few who are members of both the National Sprint Car and National Midget Halls of Fame and he started nine consecutive Indianapolis 500s between 1974 and 1982.

Dalton Armstrong of New Castle, Ind. has a five-point leader over Dillon Welch in the 2010 USAC Regional Midget standings going into Wednesday night’s Indianapolis events. He finished second to Dillon Welch in last Wednesday night’s Speedrome opener.

Welch, of Carmel, Ind., led all but the first five laps of last Wednesday night’s “John Andretti Night” feature at the Speedrome. Welch passed Jerry Nuckles on lap six and led the rest of the way in his Club Sport/VCS Beast/Esslinger Ford. Armstrong was second ahead of Chris Phillips, Cale Conley and Dave Fuhrman.


1-Dalton Armstrong-129, 2-Dillon Welch-124, 3-Cale Conley-111, 4-Chris Phillips-101, 5-Buddy Lowther-92, 6-Dave Fuhrman-83, 7-Daniel Bedford-62, 8-Nick Wagner-48, 9-Ali Jackson-47, 10-Travis Young-45.