ASCS Midwest at I-80 Speedway on Friday!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley
TULSA, Okla. (August 30, 2010) – This coming Labor Day Holiday weekend kicks off with the American Sprint Car Series Midwest Region taking to Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway on Friday night.

Friday’s card atop the 4/10-mile dirt oval marks one last tune up opportunity prior to the Nebraska Cup weekend on September 10-12 that includes events at Warrensburg, MO, McCool Junction, NE, and then Eagle, NE.

Friday’s card marks the fifth night of ASCS Midwest action at I-80 Speedway, where the series will finish off the 2010 season with championship night on September 24.

Thus far, four different drivers have reached ASCS Midwest victory lane in as many events at I-80 in 2010, with Dustin Morgan, Jack Dover, Shane Stewart and Brian Brown each collecting Greenwood cash.

Eric Lutz of Sioux Falls, SD, leads the way in the ASCS Midwest title chase entering Friday’s action with a 221-point edge over Waverly, Nebraska’s Doug Lovegrove. Jack Dover, Tyler Drueke and defending ASCS Midwest champ Jason Danley round out the current top five in points, with the rest of the top ten including Lee Grosz, Brian Brown, Gage Dorr, Chad Humston and Ryan Roberts.

Friday’s action at I-80 Speedway fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway is located in Greenwood, NE, between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 mile north on SR 63 then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-944-2233.

The ASCS Midwest Region has completed 15 nights of competition in 2010 at seven different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota and Iowa, with just five nights of competition remaining.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Regional Winners at I-80 Speedway:
7/2/10 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
5/27/10 – Shane Stewart (Midwest)
4/17/10 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/16/10 – Dustin Morgan (Midwest)
7/2/09 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
5/21/09 – Chad Humston (Midwest)
4/11/09 – Jonathan Cornell (Midwest)
4/10/09 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
8/14/07 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/15/07 – Chuck Swenson (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/14/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/15/06 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
7/3/06 – Jake Peters (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/8/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/3/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. National)
7/8/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
4/15/05 – Terry McCarl (Midwest)

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at