sos Southern Onatario Sprints
sos Southern Onatario Sprints

By Tommy Goudge

(September 9, 2010) – The Southern Ontario Sprints fifteenth anniversary tour comes to an end this weekend with a long-awaited return to the Merrittville Speedway. The SOS tour has not raced at the Niagara-area track since 2003, and will crown the 2010 champion this Friday night.

Glenn Styres of Ohsweken saw his lead in the SOS season standings grow to forty-four over Consecon’s Tyler Rand after the last SOS race at Brighton Speedway on September 4. Styres claimed a third place finish in that event, while Rand finished ninth.

Keith Dempster of Alton is third in the standings and forty-five points out of the lead, while Ridgetown’s Adam West is fourth, and Dick Mahoney of Newmarket sits fifth.

Pickering’s Jim Munsie sits seventh overall and leads the Rookie of the Year chase by sixty-two points over Stouffville driver Brad Lodge.

Many SOS regulars will be looking for their first Merrittville win this Friday night, and some will be making their first ever starts at the three-eighths mile oval. Four SOS races were held at Merrittville between 2001 and 2003. Warren Mahoney of Lefroy won the most recent Merrittville SOS event on August 16, 2003. Keith Dempster was in the top five in each of those four events, and finished second in two of them.

Local driver Travis Cunningham has two podium finishes in his last three SOS events, and figures to be one of a handful of local drivers looking to defend home turf at Merrittville this Friday.

Don’t miss the Southern Ontario Sprints Season Championship on Friday, September 10! Friday’s event is part of Merrittville’s three day “International Weekend” season finale, which also features the International Mod-Lite Championship, and much more. Please visit and for more information.

“SOS Season Championship”
Southern Ontario Sprints 2010
15th Anniversary Season
Round #9

Merrittville Speedway
2371 Merrittville Highway
Thorold, Ontario
Phone: end_of_the_skype_highligh(905) 892-8266
On the Web:

Friday, September 10, 2010.
Pit Gates Open @ 5:00p.m., Drivers Meeting @ 6:15p.m., Warmups @ 6:30p.m., Racing @ 7:00 p.m.

Please visit for more news and information about the Southern Ontario Sprints! 2010 marks the fifteenth year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints, brought to you this season by Wiseco Piston, Kenetic Photos, Stealth Racewear, Triple X Race Co., ASI Racewear, The Racers Edge, BS&B Radiator,, Hepfner Racing Products, Saldana Racing Products, Kreitz Oval Track Parts Inc., Keizer Aluminum Wheels, and Have Bus Racing Tours.

Rank. Number Name Total
1. 0 Glenn Styres – 920
2. 84 Tyler Rand – 876
3. 5 Keith Dempster – 875
4. 30 Adam West – 823
5. 79 Dick Mahoney – 756
6. 11 Chris Jones – 753
7. 9 Jim Munsie (R) – 752
8. 10 Bob Crawford – 700
9. 2 Brad Lodge (R) – 690
10. 42w Rick Wilson – 673