Dewease Wins Weld Memorial

Lance Dewease
Lance Dewease

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 9/25/10 – Lance Dewease added another notch to his ‘big win’ belt by claiming his third Kenny Weld Memorial at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

“The first lap don’t pay nothin’, and the last lap pays everything,” said Dewease upon exiting his Don and Lisa Owens-owned Advanced Development Services/Hank’s Performance Products/Catoctin Development #30C in victory lane, “It doesn’t matter if it takes you 10 laps or 39 laps to get there…as long as you lead the last lap, that’s all that matters.”

“This race is run in honor of a very special guy. He was probably one of the brightest guys ever in racing,” continued Dewease, “Anyone who doesn’t know about Kenny Weld, you ought to google him. He’s unbelievable in the things he invented and the stuff he has done, and it’s an honor to win his race.”

Dewease’s fourth Lincoln win of the year and the 36th of his Lincoln career was worth $5,000 plus lap money.

Though his team is well know for setting the car up for the end, it didn’t look like he’d be a factor in the early-going.

An eight-car inversion put Dewease on the outside of row three for the start. He passed Aaron Ott for fifth on lap two, but ran fifth the next eight laps before Ott reclaimed the spot following a 10th-lap restart.

As polesitter Greg Hodnett was leading over Chad Layton and Alan Krimes, Dewease continued to run sixth for the next nine laps before passing Ott for the fifth spot again on lap 19.

In front of him, fifth-starting Brian Leppo was having a good run of his own, passing both Krimes and Layton for second in one bold high-side move through turns three and four following a 16th-lap restart.

The 16th-lap caution was brought out by three-time track champ Brian Montieth, sporting the Weld Wheels #91 top wing in memory of Kenny Weld, who spun in turn two.

“We’ve had a pretty good car all year here at about lap 20,” continued Dewease, “At the beginning I wasn’t sure we were even gonna go anywhere. We just weren’t real good there…we were a little tight, and with that dirty air behind them guys I couldn’t get momentum going. Every time I got to the corner by myself we were alright. There at the beginning, I had to be patient and not do anything dumb.”

Dewease kicked in following a 22nd-lap restart, passing Krimes for fourth and then disposing of both Chad Layton and Leppo to move from fourth to second just before the caution came out Justin Henderson, who came to a stop with a broken axle in turns three and four of lap 24. The lap didn’t count, but because he was past the start-finish line, Dewease’s passes did.

Dewease made quick work of leader Hodnett on the restart, pulling the slider in turns three and four to take to lead.

After that, it was all Lance, as he crossed .94 seconds ahead of Hodnett, with Layton, Krimes, and Daryn Pittman completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Cory Haas, Fred Rahmer, 23rd-starting Johnny Mackison, Jr., and Leppo.

410 Sprint heats were won by Haas, Derek Sell, Tyler Walker, and Montieth, with Rahmer winning the consolation.

Fast time in time trials over the 35-car field was set by Pittman with a one-lap time of 13.220-seconds (102.118 MPH).

Saturday, Sept. 25, 2010
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (40 Laps) – 1. 30C-Lance Dewease ($5,000); 2. 22-Greg Hodnett; 3. 7-Chad Layton; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 27-Daryn Pittman; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 1-Stevie Smith; 8. 51-Fred Rahmer; 9. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 10. 71-Brian Leppo; 11. 19M-Brent Marks; 12. 15-Adam Wilt; 13. 48-Danny Dietrich; 14. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 15. 93-Doug Esh; 16. 6-Brad McClelland; 17. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 18. 20S-Derek Sell; 19. 39-Keith Kauffman; 20. 91-Brian Montieth (DNF); 21. 25-Aaron Ott (DNF); 22. 17-Tyler Walker (DNF); 23. 35-Justin Henderson (DNF); 24. 7M-Mark Smith (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Chad Layton (1-2), Greg Hodnett (3-23), Lance Dewease (24-40)

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 11C-Cory Haas; 2. 93-Doug Esh; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 27-daryn Pittman; 6. 6-Brad McClelland; 7. 4-John Rudisill; 8. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 9. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.. Time – 2:23.191

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 20S-Derek Sell; 2. 30C-Lance Dewease; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 35-Justin Henderson; 5. 25-Aaron Ott; 6. 6W-Josh Wells; 7. 7A-Ed Aikin; 8. 84C-Chad Criswell; 9. 39T-Tim Glatfelter (DNF). Time – 2:27.183

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 17-Tyler Walker; 2. 7M-Mark Smith; 3. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich; 5. 7-Chad Layton; 6. 19M-Brent Marks; 7. 51-Fred Rahmer; 8. 747-Kevin Nagy (DNF); DNS – 23Z-Todd Zinn. No Time

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 91-Brian Montieth; 2. 1-Stevie Smith; 3. 22-Greg Hodnett; 4. 71-Brian Leppo; 5. 39-Keith Kauffman; 6. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 7. 3B-Randy Baughman; 8. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr. No Time

B-Main (12 Laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 2. 6-Brad McClelland; 3. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 6W-Josh Wells; 6. 84C-Chad Criswell; 7. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 8. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 9. 4-John Rudisill; 10. 3B-Randy Baughman; 11. 7A-Ed Aiken (DNF); 12. 39T-Tim Glatfelter (DNF); 13. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. (DNF); 14. 747-Kevin Nagy (DNS). No Time

Time Trials – 1. 27-Daryn Pittman, 13.220 seconds (102.118 MPH); 2. 30C-Lance Dewease, 13.296; 3. 51-Fred Rahmer, 13.358; 4. 71-Brian Leppo, 13.384; 5. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.477; 6. 25-Aaron Ott, 13.486; 7. 7-Chad Layton, 13.489; 8. 22-Greg Hodnett, 13.491; 9. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.509; 10. 35-Justin Henderson, 13.523; 11. 7M-Mark Smith, 13.543; 12. 1-Stevie Smith, 13.570; 13. 11C-Cory Haas, 13.582; 14. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.691; 15. 59-Jimmy Siegel, 13.710; 16. 39-Keith Kauffman, 13.795; 17. 93-Doug Esh, 13.817; 18. 20S-Derek Sell, 13.835; 19. 17-Tyler Walker, 13.852; 20. 91-Brian Montieth, 13.866; 21. 6-Brad McClelland, 13.912; 22. 6W-Josh Wells, 13.964; 23. 19M-Brent Marks, 13.964; 24. 94-Ted Thomas, 14.020; 25. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr., 14.029; 26. 84C-Chad Criswell, 14.049; 27. 48-Danny Dietrich, 14.060; 28. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr., 14.124; 29. 4-John Rudisill, 14.152; 30. 7-Ed Aikin, 14.163; 31. 747-Kevin Nagy, 14.203; 32. 3B-Randy Baughman, 14.235; 33. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., 14.641; 34. 39T-Tim Glatfelter, 15.200; 35. 23Z-Todd Zinn, 15.462.