Grey and Blackhurst Win at Hickory

USAC Ford Focus Midget Car Series
USAC Ford Focus Midget Car Series

Hickory, NC — Terry Grey and Jake Blackhurst were victorious Saturday night at Hicktory Motor Speedway. Grey won the USCS sprint car feature while Blackhurst won the USAC Ford Focus Midget Car main event.

USCS Hickory Night of Thunder presented by K&N Filters

K&N Filters Power Dash: Johnny Bridges, Terry Gray, Adam Jackson, Morgan Turpen, Darren Clark, Nick Bashford and Holly Jackson.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Adam Jackson, Nick Bashford, Sondi Eden, Johnny Bridges, Brian Carter, Darren Clark and Brandon Rekow.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Terry Gray, Tom Paterson, Morgan Turpen, Jim Blenkarn, Tim Perry, Jake McLain, David Clark and Joe Larkin.

USCS Main Event presented by K&N Filters 40-laps:

1. 10 Terry Gray Bartlett, TN
2. 07 Johnny Bridges Cherryville, NC
3. 80 Morgan Turpen Bartlett, TN
4. 46 Adam Jackson Timmonsville, SC
5. 70 Sondi Eden Crawfordsville, IN
6. X Nick Bashford China Grove, NC
7. 11 Tom Paterson Argos, IN
8. 6c Brian Carter Concord, NC
9. 67m Jake McLain Indian Trail, NC
10. 04 Tim Perry China Grove, NC
11. 21 David Clark Huntersville, NC
12. 33 Joe Larkin Suwannee, GA
13. 20 Darren Clark Huntersville, NC
14. 69 Brandon Rekow Mooresville, NC
15. 46b Jim Blenkarn Smyrna, TN
16. 45 Holly Jackson Timmonville, SC

Fast Time: Johnny Bridges 12:561 0.363 mile paved oval
K&N Filters POWER DASH: WINNER: Terry Gray
K &N Filters POLE AWARD: Tom Paterson
KSE Racing Hard charger Award: Joe Larkin (Started 16th finished 12th)
Hoosier Tire YOUNG GUN: Morgan Turpen (Top finish under 25 yrs. old)
ROOKIE OF THE RACE: Morgan Turpen (3rd place)
JE Pistons TOP GUNS AWARD: Johnny Bridges (2nd place)
K&N Filters 3RD-PLACE AWARD: Morgan Turpen
Butlerbuilt 4TH-PLACE AWARD: Adam Jackson
Dyno Tech TOP FIVE AWARD: Sondi Eden

ENTRIES: 16 drivers from 5 states

LAP LEADERS: Terry Gray Laps 1-40.
CAUTIONS: Cautions two, on laps 1 and 10.

USAC MIDWEST/EASTERN/CAROLINA FORD FOCUS RACE RESULTS: October 23, 2010 – Hickory, North Carolina – Hickory Motor Speedway

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Andy Nock, 14x, Rankine-14.938; 2. Jake Blackhurst, 25, Blackhurst-15.043; 3. Nick Drake, 55, Cline-15.158; 4. Scott Hunter, 14, Brown-15.179; 5. Austin Prock, 98, Noffsinger/Brown-15.290; 6. Tyler Corriher, 12, Noffsinger/Brown-15.315; 7. Jarett Andretti, 2x, Trotter-15.374; 8. Joe Liguori, 22x, Givens-15.393; 9. Justin Hommel, 97, Noffsinger/Brown-15.430; 10. Tyler Cottongim, 28, Cottongim-15.460; 11. Chris Lamb, 19L, Paulson-15.571; 12. Mike Ward, 80, Ward-15.708; 13. Ross Rankine, 39, Rankine-15.757; 14. Nick Davidson, 13D, Paulson-15.776; 15. Amanda Quinones, 00, Quinones-15.972; 16. Bradley Riethmeyer, 11, Trotter-NT; 17. Billy Gaule, 22, Gaule-NT; 18. Brad Noffsinger, 17, Brown/Noffsinger-NT.

FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Andretti, 2. Drake, 3. Lamb, 4. Prock, 5. Rankine, 6. Quinones, 7. Nock, 8. Hommel. NT

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Hunter, 2. Cottongim, 3. Liguori, 4. Blackhurst, 5. Ward, 6. Corriher, 7. Davidson. NT

FEATURE: (35 laps) 1. Jake Blackhurst, 2. Tyler Cottongim, 3. Chris Lamb, 4. Nick Drake, 5. Scott Hunter, 6. Joe Liguori, 7. Austin Prock, 8. Ross Rankine, 9. Jarett Andretti, 10. Tyler Corriher, 11. Mike Ward, 12. Nick Davidson, 13. Amanda Quinones, 14. Justin Hommel. NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Lap 1 Lamb, Laps 2-31 Cottongim, Laps 32-35 Blackhurst.

FINAL MIDWEST FORD FOCUS SERIES POINTS: 1-Liguori-801; 2-Blackhurst-789; 3-Kyle O’Gara-675; 4-Cottongim-641; 5-Jessica Bean-569; 6-Toby Alfrey-547; 7-Nock-526; 8-Hunter-477; 9-Drake-454; 10-Eric Rankine-404.

FINAL MIDWEST PAVEMENT FORD FOCUS SERIES POINTS: 1-Blackhurst-677; 2-Liguori-620; 3-Cottongim-546; 4-Kyle O’Gara-513; 5-Nock-417; 6-Tate Martz-398; 7-Drake-342; 8-Hunter-341; 9-Hommel-306; 10-Geoff Gerline-295.

FINAL EASTERN FORD FOCUS SERIES POINTS: 1-Hunter-764; 2-Drake-705; 3-Hommel-659; 4-Lamb-587; 5-Corriher-561; 6-Jarett Andretti-492; 7-Blackhurst-370; 8-Cody Acton-369; 9-Cottongim-356; 10-Gaule-313.

FINAL CAROLINA FORD FOCUS SERIES POINTS: 1-Hunter-1,026; 2-Drake-870; 3-Hommel-843; 4-Corriher-668; 5-Lamb-605; 6-Andretti-536; 7-Cottongim-356; 8-Cody Acton-321; 9-Gaule-313; 10-Blackhurst-313.