From Lincoln Speedway, photo courtesy of Rick Rarer

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 3/5/2011 – It’s hard to imagine that Lincoln’s three-time defending track is still getting better.

Brian Montieth started on the pole and led every lap of Saturday’s “Icebreaker 30″ at Lincoln Speedway Saturday afternoon. Montieth’s 21st career win moved him into a 14th-place tie with Donnie Kreitz, Jr. on the all-time Lincoln win list and earned the Jerry Parrish team $3,500.

The driver who earned the nickname “the Edge” in his early years showed that he could drive anywhere on the race track in picking up four feature wins and his third-straight track title in 2010.

On Saturday, he knew he’d need to drive a flawless race in holding off Daryn Pittman for the win. And he did.

“I knew if I screwed up once I’d be waving goodbye to Daryn,” said Montieth upon exiting his Premier Auto Works/Auto Locator #21 in victory lane, “I concentrated on hitting my marks, and I knew he would race me clean. As long as I didn’t spin on the start, at least I had a chance.”

Montieth’s second-place finish from seventh starting spot in his in his qualifying event may have been the key to his win. With the top three drivers from each heat re-drawing for starting spots at the front of the field, Montieth picked pill number-one for the feature.

“The heat races are tough, and I got a lucky start…that’s all that was,” said Montieth, “For a daytime race, I think the track was excellent.”

Torrid racing for position led to 10 caution flags behind Montieth.

Adam Wilt started on the outside of the front row and chased Montieth through seven caution flags over the first 13 laps before seventh-starting Daryn Pittman took the runner-up spot from the North York Auto Menders #15 on a lap 14 restart. Pittman pressured Montieth on lap 18 and 22 restarts, but faded each time.

“The first race is always nerve-racking. I was more nervous in warm-ups than I was racing overseas. I’m happy to be home, “continued Montieth, “Over in Australia, I couldn’t get ‘em (the crew) where I needed to be. When I got back here, I definitely appreciate everything these guys do for me.”

Montieth’s final margin of victory was 1.6 seconds over the Mike Heffner #27, with Wilt crossing third. Wilt and sixth-starting Cory Haas exchanged third several times before Wilt took third for good on lap 23.
Rounding out the top five was Doug Esh, with Chad Layton, 17th-starting Mark Smith, Fred Rahmer, Justin Henderson, and Gerard McIntyre, Jr. completing the top ten.

Heats for the 31 “410″ sprinters were won by Shawn Weaver, Cory Haas, Doug Esh, and Brian Leppo, with Doug Dodson winning the consolation.

Hanover’s Sam Gallagher passed former track champ Duane Watson on the second lap and then held off the 5-time opening day winner over the remainder of the race to win the season-opening Spring Thaw 20 for the Thundercars.

Polesitter Watson grabbed the lead at the drop of the green with third-starting Gallagher right on his bumper. Gallagher edged ahead of Watson at the line to complete the second lap and then stuck to the bottom groove the rest of the way as Watson drove on his bumper the entire distance. Gallagher took the checkered .84-seconds ahead of Watson for his 17th career Lincoln win.

Third through fifth were Kyle Martin, Mike Slaybaugh, and Danny Beard. Sixth through tenth were Mikey Guise, Rick Weaver, Jimmy Combs, Roy Warehime, and Bob Johnson.

Heats for the 16 thundercars were won by Mike Slaybaugh and Danny Beard.

Next Saturday afternoon, March 12th, at 2 PM, Lincoln Speedway will be back in action with the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprinters being joined by the 358 Sprints in their 2011 season-opening show. Gates will open at noon.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, March 5, 2011
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($3,500); 2. 27-Daryn Pittman; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 30-Doug Esh; 6. 7-Chad Layton; 7. 7M-Mark Smith; 8. 51-Fred Rahmer; 9. 35-Justin Henderson; 10. 16-Gerald McIntyre, Jr.; 11. 48-Danny Dietrich; 12. 92-Justin Collett; 13. 59-Jim Siegel; 14. 22-Cole Duncan; 15. 71-Brian Leppo; 16. 14-Doug Dodson; 17. 4-John Rudisill; 18. 12-Mike Bittinger; 19. 12J-Lynton Jeffrey (DNF); 20. 39-Greg Hodnett (DNF); 21. 17-Tyler Walker (DNF); 22. 19M-Brent Marks (DNF); 23. 85-Shawn Weaver (DNF); 24. 10-Zach Euculano (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brian Montieth (1-30)

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 85-Shawn Weaver; 2. 7-Chad Layton; 3. 17-Tyler Walker; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 7M-Mark Smith; 6. 0-Rick Lafferty; 7. 77-Aaron Ott; DNS – 5-Adam Lawrence. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 11C-Cory Haas; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 92-Justin Collett; 6. 14-Doug Dodson; 7. 22-Cole Duncan; 8. 48-Danny Dietrich. Time – 2:17.848 (Est. New 10-lap record for 1400 lb limit)

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 30-Doug esh;2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 39-Greg Hodnett; 4. 12J-Lynton Jeffrey; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 6-Brad McClellan; 7. 87-Alan Krimes; 8. 4-John Rudisill (DNF). No Time

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 71-Brian Leppo; 2. 35-Justin Henderson; 3. 27-Daryn Pittman; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 10-Zach Eucalano; 6. 20S-Derek Sell; 7. 84C-Chad Criswell (DNF). Time – 2:19.343

Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 14-Doug Dodson; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich; 3. 22-Cole Duncan; 4. 4-John Rudisill; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 6-Brad McClelland; 7. 77-Aaron Ott; 8. 84C-Chad Criswell; 9. 20S-Derek Sell; 10. 0-Rick Lafferty (DNF); DNS – 5-Adam Lawrence. No Time

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Sam Gallagher ($500); 2. 3W-Duane Watson; 3. 54-Kyle Martin; 4. 61-Mike Slaybaugh; 5. 60-Danny Beard; 6. 93-Mikey Guise; 7. 70-Rick Weaver; 8. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 9. 54W-Roy Warehime.; 10. 18-Bob Johnson; 11. 12-Larry Neiderer (DNF); 12. 57-Brad Shank (DNF); 13. 48-Allen Cullum (DNF); 14. 8-Nathan Emig (DNF); 15. 9-Matt Conley (DNS); 16. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders – Duane Watson (1); Sam Gallagher (2-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps) – 1. 61-Mike Slaybaugh; 2. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 3. 70-Rick Weaver; 4. 18-Bob Johnson; 5. 57-Brad Shank; 6. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer (DNF); 7. 9-Matt Conley (DNF); 8. 12-Larry Neiderer (DNS). No Time

2nd Heat (8 Laps) – 1. 60-Danny Beard; 2. 25-Sam Gallagher; 3. 3W-Duane Watson; 4. 54-Kyle Martin; 5. 93-Mikey Guise; 6. 54W-Roy Warehime; 7. 8-Nathan Emig; 8. 48-Allen Cullum (DNF). No Time

Photo Gallery