Buckwalter Wins All Star and ARDC Features at Williams Grove

Mechanicsburg, PA — The Royersford Rocket, Steve Buckwalter swept Friday night’s racing action at Williams Grove Speedway, taking victories in both the 30-lap All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints main as well as in the 20-lap ARDC Midgets feature.

Buckwalter earned the pole for the All Stars feature by winning the dash and from there it was all over but the shouting for the versatile pilot, who drove both the high side and the low side of the oval to pick up the checkers.

Aboard the Clair and Jan Ritter No. 17B, Buckwalter was trailed early by second starter Curt Michael of Ocean View, Del., and entered the backmarkers with 10 laps to go in what turned out to be a non-stop event.

All the while Buckwalter was leading, positions were changing within the balance of the top-five as ninth starter Alan Krimes of Denver made inroads while fourth starter Rick Lafferty battled as well.

Lafferty finally moved by Michael for second with nine laps left but had nothing for Buckwalter, who drove uncontested to the $5,000 payday and his second overall triumph of the young season.

Buckwalter commented on his run at the front as he entered the backmarkers running the top while drivers Krimes and Lafferty were advancing using the inside groove.

“As soon as they got close, I dropped down,” he said. “I guess it was the right move.”

“I could see them out of the corner of my eye. First it was five (car lengths back) then it was three and I figured that’s enough.”

Krimes was third followed by Michael and 10th starter Stevie Smith.

Sixth through 10th went to Fred Rahmer, Greg Hodnett, Brian Montieth, Brian Leppo and Lance Dewease.

Heats went to Dewease, Jessica Zemken, Daryn Pittman and David Gravel with Rahmer scoring the B Main. Rahmer also set fast time over the 41-car field in qualifications with a lap of 16.877 seconds. Buckwalter won the dash for the pole.

After starting out 15th in the ARDC main, it took Buckwalter until the halfway point of the 20 lapper to take the lead from driver Andrew Hannula.

And once in front, away he went to score the twin checkers on the night ahead of Drew Heistand, Brett Arndt, Hannula and Keith McIntyre Jr.

ARDC heats went to Arndt, Hannula and Heistand.

April 29, 2011 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Rick Lafferty, 3. Alan Krimes, 4. Curt Michael, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Fred Rahmer, 7. Greg Hodnett, 8. Brian Montieth, 9. Brian Leppo, 10. Lance Dewease, 11. Dale Blaney, 12. Don Kreitz Jr. 13. Chad Layton, 14. Tim Shaffer, 15. Danny Dietrich, 16. Tyler Walker, 17. Daryn Pittman, 18. Doug Esh, 19. Todd Shaffer, 20. Justin Henderson, 21. Adam Wilt, 22. Jessica Zemken, 23. Kerry Madsen, 24. David Gravel

ARDC Midgets, 20 laps: 1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Drew Heistand, 3. Brett Arndt, 4. Andrew Hannula, 5. Keith McIntyre, Jr., 6. Steve Lenig, 7. Dave Shirk, 8. Ryan Watt, 9. Mike Miller, 10. Brenden Bright, 11. Greg Fitzpatrick, 12. Mark Gilmore, 13. Steven Bull, 14. Steve Craig, 15. Steven Drevicki, 16. Bruce Buckwalter, 17. Eric Heydenreich, 18. Shawn Jackson, 19. Shane Penny, 20. Dusty Heistand, 21. Alex Bright, 22. Ryan Smith, 23. Tim Buckwalter, 24. Nick Wean, 25. Randy Reid