Pink Panther Wins at Delaware

urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Delmar, DE — The already attractive URC purse received an additional $1,000 bonus thanks to Viper Venom Fuels and at the end of the night, it was veteran Kramer Williamson of Palmyra, PA earning the win worth $2,550 Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway. Williamson was strong at the beginning of the night, winning his heat race in convincing style. In the twenty-five lap Rislone URC feature, Williamson played the waiting game, running second most of the race. The turning point of the feature happened on lap twenty, when the slower car of Troy Betts jumped out of gear. Race Leader Curt Michael had nowhere to go and the two cars tangled entering turn one, eliminating both cars from competition. For Michael, his night started with severe motor problems after taking the checker flag and finishing second in the second heat race. The Valley Forge Inc pit crew led by Sean Michael changed out the motor in time to start the feature event. After the lap twenty incident between Michael and Betts, Kramer Williamson assumed the lead and ran unchallenged the final five laps to take the win.

The event Saturday night was the second race of the 2011 Rislone URC Sprint Series and the first race of the Taylor & Messick Delaware State Sprint Series. Heat race events were won by Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson and Randy West.

In the twenty-five lap URC sprint feature, Tim Hogue of Medford, NJ set the early pace and certainly had the field covered for the first seven laps. Curt Michael, following that motor change started fifth and was chasing Hogue on lap seven. The first yellow of the race was displayed on lap eight when Robbie Stillwaggon spun in turn two. On the restart, Michael dove to the bottom was Hogue up high. Down the backstretch, Hogue fought back to hold the lead but entering the third turn, Michael moved the Valley Forge Inc sprinter to the front of the pack. At that point of the race, there was really no one on the track who was in a position to challenge Michael for the win.

With each lap, Michael ran to hide from the rest of the field as Williamson followed in second with Hogue third, Randy West fourth and JJ Grasso fifth. Suddenly, Becca Anderson in the Dave Betts owned sprinter was on a charge racing just outside the top five.

By lap nineteen, Anderson moved into fifth, dropping Grasso to sixth as Josh Weller moved into the picture also chasing a top five finish.

As Michael entered turn one on lap twenty, the failing car of Troy Betts was right in the groove. The yellow flag was displayed for Troy Betts who stopped on the bank in turn two with race leader Curt Michael and his Valley Forge Inc 5g now stopped on the backstretch. Both cars required tow trucks to take them back to the pit area.

With five laps remaining, Williamson and his Pink Panther #73 were at the front of the field followed by Tim Hogue (who was running one of his best races of his career, Randy West, Becca Anderson and JJ Grasso. In the closing laps, the battle brewing was that between Randy West and Becca Anderson. Grasso also had his hands full as Josh Weller was trying to break the top five.

With the checker flag waiving, Kramer Williamson was the Viper Venom Victory over Tim Hogue, Randy West, Becca Anderson and JJ Grasso. For Williamson, it was his first win of the season and sixty-seventh career Rislone URC feature event win.

In total, Paul Messick of Viper Venom Fuels posted $1,000 bonus dollars with Kramer Williamson collecting $500 as Randy West, Becca Anderson, JJ Grasso, Josh Weller and Davey Franek shared in the Viper money.

FEATURE FINISH: Kramer Williamson, Tim Hogue, Randy West, Becca Anderson, JJ Grasso, Josh Weller, Davey Franek, Rory Janney, Andy Best, Dave Ely, Art Liedl, Robbie Stillwaggon, Joe Zuczek, Tim Iulg, Jonathan Swanson, Dave Martin, Curt Michael, Troy Betts, Johnny Zimmerman, Mark Bitner, Kevin Darling, Chris Weis

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger – – -Art Liedl advanced 10 spots
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night- – – Curt Michael 5g
Engler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – Tim Hogue
Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – – Kramer Williamson
Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- -Randy West
Delaware State Fans Bonus- – – Joe Zuczek