Dewease Wins All Star Feature at Clinton County

All Star Circuit of Champions

By Brian Liskai

MACKEYVILLE, PA (6-5-11) – Lance Dewease and Justin
Henderson made the first appearance of the O’Reilly Auto Parts All Star
Circuit of Champion Sprint Cars at Clinton County Raceway a memorable one
Sunday, June 5. The pair raced side-by-side for several laps for the lead
before Dewease took control. Then, Henderson mounted a late race challenge
but Dewease was able to hold him off for his 28th career All Star victory.

“Our car really wasn’t that good…I thought Justin had a better car. The top
was pretty nice up there in the beginning and I gave it all we had and got
the lead. I really didn’t know where to run in 3 and 4…I floated in the
middle and bottom and tried to keep my momentum up. Then we got into lapped
traffic and I couldn’t see the top any more and didn’t know if I was even
on the track,” said Dewease beside his Catoctin Motorsports, Viper Risk
Management, Advanced Development Services backed #30c.

The win moves Dewease closer to Dale Blaney for the All Star’s Eastern
Region Points Championship and the $20,000 prize at the end of the year.

At the drop of the green flag, Henderson and Dewease quickly began their
battle but a Dylan Procter spin would mean another start. On the second
start Dewease and Henderson again ran side-by-side for the lead. That
battle would be interrupted on lap three for an Alan Cole spin. On the
restart Dewease was able to pull away slightly, but his lead was wiped out
when Procter and Scott Lutz both spun in turn four.

While the focus was on the battle up front, Dale Blaney and Tyler Walker
were charging through the pack. Walker had flipped in his heat, pulled out
the back-up car, came from the back of the B-main to a transfer spot and
had driven from 24th starting spot in the A-main an 11th place finish.
Blaney patiently worked his way from 14th to a sixth place finish.

Dewease continued to lead Henderson while Sam Hafertepe Jr. charged toward
the front, moving into third by lap 10. A Pete Miller spin on lap 12 would
bunch the field up once again. On the restart with a clear track in front
of him, Dewease was able to pull away, but that lead was wiped out five
laps later when Bob Howard spun. Again Dewease was able to build a lead
until he hit lapped traffic with five circuits remaining. Henderson quickly
closed as Dewease struggled to get by the lapped machines due to the dusty
conditions. However, Dewease was able to hold on for the victory.

“I knew Lance would be tough. This is the type of place that has been a
thorn in my heel ever since I started racing. But we made leaps and bounds
tonight thanks to my crew chief Jim Shriner…he’s fantastic. He’s not just a
crew chief he’s a coach. He’s improved my game an awful lot. I appreciate
him just as much as the sponsors on our car…Montrose Molders, Mark
Millwright, Ti22,” said Henderson. “Coming out here…my first time here and
I have to say I had a blast. It would be exciting to be here every week…I
wish we could. The fans here are fantastic.”

“When we were coming through traffic I thought we were going to win the
thing. When we got into long green flag runs I think we kind of screwed up
our tire…I think with the grooving and siping we screwed up there,” said
Hafertepe of his third place run.

“I think we could have prepared the right rear tire better than we did..we
might have had a shot at Lance and Justin. We got up beside Justin but we
really never had anything for him. I really didn’t know how good the top
was…I had a little searching to do but all and all it was a pretty good
night,” added Hafertepe beside his Plumbfast Racing, Lonestar Speedway
backed #15h.

Clinton County Speedway – 6/5/2011

Qualifying – Kistler Engines

1. 39-Greg Hodnett, 14.190; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer, 14.511; 3. O4-Cap Henry,
14.691; 4. 3-Pete Miller III, 14.854; 5. 17-Tyler Walker, 14.869; 6.
35-Justin Henderson, 14.971; 7. 7M-Mark Smith, 14.992; 8. 30C-Lance
Dewease, 15.030; 9. 33-Scott Lutz, 15.171; 10. 89G-David Gravel, 15.185;
11. 70-Matt Johnson, 15.196; 12. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr., 15.205; 13.
12B-Mike Bittinger, 15.229; 14. 7-Chad Layton, 15.277; 15. 27-Daryn
Pittman, 15.286; 16. 2-Dale Blaney, 15.320; 17. 12-Blane Heinbach, 15.404;
18. 51-Fred Rahmer, 15.599; 19. 5-Dylan Procter, 15.615; 20. 22R-Kyle Drum,
15.629; 21. 1-Stevie Smith, 15.688; 22. 5B-Chuck Brion, 15.693; 23. 4A-Alan
Cole, 15.811; 24. 49-Bob Howard, 15.813; 25. 77-Aaron Ott, 15.863; 26.
87-George Supprick III, 15.882; 27. 87M-Mark Ide, 15.899; 28. 1Z-Jessica
Zemken, 15.971; 29. 30-Daryl Stimeling, 16.254; 30. 9-Wes Irwin, 16.285;
31. 25-John Smith III, 16.289; 32. 27S-Wade Stauffer, 16.360; 33. 2I-Clint
Ide, 84.567

Heat 1 – Kear’s Speed Shop (8 Laps – Top 5 Transfer)

1. 1-Stevie Smith; 2. 12-Blane Heinbach; 3. 39-Greg Hodnett; 4. 33-Scott
Lutz; 5. 12B-Mike Bittinger; 6. 2I-Clint Ide; 7. 77-Aaron Ott; 8. 30-Daryl
Stimeling; 9. 17-Tyler Walker

Heat 2 – All Pro Heads (8 Laps – Top 5 Transfer)

1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 2. 35-Justin Henderson; 3. 7-Chad Layton; 4. 89G-David
Gravel; 5. 83-Tim Shaffer; 6. 87-George Supprick III; 7. 5B-Chuck Brion; 8.
9-Wes Irwin

Heat 3 – MSD Ignition (8 Laps – Top 5 Transfer)

1. 4A-Alan Cole; 2. 27-Daryn Pittman; 3. 5-Dylan Procter; 4. 7M-Mark Smith;
5. O4-Cap Henry; 6. 87M-Mark Ide; 7. 25-John Smith III; 8. 70-Matt Johnson

Heat 4 – Kinsler Fuel Injection (8 Laps – Top 5 Transfer)

1. 49-Bob Howard; 2. 2-Dale Blaney; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr.; 4. 30C-Lance
Dewease; 5. 22R-Kyle Drum; 6. 3-Pete Miller III; 7. 27S-Wade Stauffer; 8.
1Z-Jessica Zemken

Dash – Outerwear’s Performance Products (6 Laps)

1. 35-Justin Henderson; 2. 30C-Lance Dewease; 3. 7M-Mark Smith; 4. O4-Cap
Henry; 5. 83-Tim Shaffer; 6. 39-Greg Hodnett

B-Main – University of Northwestern Ohio (12 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)

1. 3-Pete Miller III; 2. 17-Tyler Walker; 3. 77-Aaron Ott; 4. 87-George
Supprick III; 5. 5B-Chuck Brion; 6. 25-John Smith III; 7. 30-Daryl
Stimeling; 8. 70-Matt Johnson; 9. 27S-Wade Stauffer; 10. 87M-Mark Ide; 11.
2I-Clint Ide; 12. 9-Wes Irwin; 13. 1Z-Jessica Zemken

A-Main – O’Reilly Auto Parts (30 Laps) [#]-Starting Position

1. 30C-Lance Dewease[2]; 2. 35-Justin Henderson[1]; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe
Jr.[9]; 4. 39-Greg Hodnett[6]; 5. 7M-Mark Smith[3]; 6. 2-Dale Blaney[14];
7. O4-Cap Henry[4]; 8. 83-Tim Shaffer[5]; 9. 89G-David Gravel[8]; 10.
27-Daryn Pittman[13]; 11. 17-Tyler Walker[24]; 12. 51-Fred Rahmer[16]; 13.
12-Blane Heinbach[15]; 14. 12B-Mike Bittinger[11]; 15. 77-Aaron Ott[22];
16. 7-Chad Layton[10]; 17. 5-Dylan Procter[17]; 18. 3-Pete Miller III[12];
19. 33-Scott Lutz[7]; 20. 22R-Kyle Drum[18]; 21. 4A-Alan Cole[20]; 22.
49-Bob Howard[21]; 23. 87-George Supprick III[23]; 24. 1-Stevie Smith[19]