Carl Bowser back at the wheel and back in Sheetz Victory Lane

lernerville speedway
lernerville speedway

From Eric Westendorf

July 1, 2011 (Sarver, PA) Nearly perfect weather conditions made for an awesome start to the Fourth of July weekend as Fab Four Racing was back in action after a week’s hiatus for last weekend’s Firecracker 100! Hot, dry weather all week helped create a slick, but racy track that saw Carl Bowser and Dave Hess Jr. dominate their features, as Jeremiah Shingledecker and Joe Kelley had to catch and pass early leaders to claim their checkered flags.

The Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprints rolled onto the Action Track first with Sarver’s own Carl Bowser drawing the pole. Bowser had to sit out the Mid-Season Championships on June 17 after taking a nasty flip at Mercer Raceway Park the weekend before. Back and better than ever, Bowser jumped out to a quick lead, but front row mate Brent Matus drew even on the back straightaway and had a slight lead entering turn three. Bowser jumped up on the cushion, mashed the loud pedal and rocketed into the lead exiting turn four. Lap two saw “Cowboy” Brian Steinman tangle with Brent Matus’s son Brandon; Steinman flipped over turn one and Brandon Matus went sailing into the retaining wall below the camping area in turn one. Bowser took off on the restart and drove away from the field for his first Lernerville win of the season.

Budweiser points leader Brian Ellenberger took advantage of a late race, uncharacteristic mistake by Rod George. George was over a full straightaway behind Bowser, but had a sizable margin ahead of Ellenberger until he spun exiting turn two on lap 23, did a 360 and kept going. The loss of momentum, however, was all Ellenberger needed to claim the runner up spot ahead of George in third. Jack Sodeman Jr. came from 11th on the grid to finish fourth, while Dan Kuriger scored his first top five of the season. The Ti22 top ten rounded out with Scott Priester, AJ Albrecht, Andy McKisson, Brent Matus and Pete Landram. Ti22 Heats were checkered by Kevin Schaeffer and Brian Ellenberger. Ellenberger continues to lead the Bud points over Bowser and George.

Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprint Feature (25 Laps)

Winner: (10) Carl Bowser, Sarver

(22) Brian Ellenberger, (4) Rod George, (23JR) Jack Sodeman Jr., (08) Dan Kuriger, (11) Scott Priester, (7A) Andrew Albrecht, (0) Andy McKisson, (33) Brent Matus, (44) Pete Landram, (76) Davey Jones, (16) Gary Rankin, (2A) Todd Allen, (12J) Bill Jones Jr., (38) Dennis Wagner, (6) Shelia Rankin, (96) Lindsay Enscoe, (B6) Bobbi Rankin, (24S) Brian Steinman, (13) Brandon Matus, (9) Kevin Schaeffer

National Guard Heat Race Winners: Kevin Schaeffer, Brian Ellenberger