ASCS Midwest Action Continues in Minnesota and South Dakota!

ASCS Midwest Region American Sprint Car Series Logo

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (July 5, 2011) – The second of four consecutive weekends of racing action for the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region plays out this weekend with events in Minnesota and South Dakota.

The weekend double begins on Friday night with the first ASCS event at Minnesota’s Jackson Speedway since 2007, then wraps up on Saturday nights with the series lone stop of the year at Hartford, South Dakota’s I-90 Speedway.

Friday’s tilt at Jackson Speedway, a makeup of the track’s Folken Brothers Trucking/Van Wyhe Livestock Spring Sprint Car Nationals originally scheduled for earlier in the year, offers up a $5,000 winner’s share and $500 to start the feature with Saturday’s card at I-90 Speedway a $3,000-to-win and $300-to-start affair.

Leading the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest forces into the weekend is Oklahoma City native Wayne Johnson, who holds a 67-point edge over Missouri’s Brian Brown. While Johnson was a Midwest winner at Cameron, MO, on June 17, Brown comes off his third I-80 Speedway win of the year this past Friday night.

Nebraska’s Jack Dover currently stands third in Midwest points, with fellow Nebraska shoe Jordan Boston and Colorado’s Bryan Gossel rounding out the current top five. The rest of the current top ten includes Don Droud, Jr., Lee Grosz, Danny Lasoski, Ryan Roberts and Jason Danley.

With eight ASCS Midwest events in the books, Brown ranks as the only driver to post multiple wins. Five drivers have picked off single victories including Johnson, Dover, Lasoski, Chad Humston and Seth Bergman.

Both nights of racing action are set to go green at 7:30 p.m.

The high-banked, ½-mile Jackson Speedway dirt oval is located in Jackson, MN, 0.3 miles south of I-90 Exit 73 on US 71, then one mile east on CR 38, then 0.9 miles south on CR 51 at the fairgrounds. For more information, contact the track at 507-841-1957.

The high-banked, 3/8-mile I-90 Speedway dirt oval is located three miles west of Hartford, SD, on SR 38. For more information, contact the track at 605-528-6380.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 21 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

Past ASCS Regional Winners at Jackson Speedway:
8/17/07 – Gregg Bakker
7/14/06 – Dusty Zomer
6/3/06 – Bryan Dobesh
6/2/06 – Chuck Swenson

Past ASCS Regional Winners at I-90 Speedway:
7/23/10 – Jake Peters
* 7/10/10 – Shane Stewart
6/25/10 – Eric Lutz
7/24/09 – Eric Lutz
* 7/11/09 – Gary Wright
6/26/09 – Chad Humston
8/13/08 – Jack Dover
7/25/08 – Jake Peters
* 6/24/08 – Tony Bruce, Jr.
8/15/07 – Shane Stewart
7/27/07 – Chuck Swenson
* 6/19/07 – Jason Johnson
8/15/06 – Bryan Dobesh
7/18/06 – Chuck Swenson
6/13/06 – Jason Johnson
8/25/05 – Dusty Zomer

* – Denotes events held in conjunction with Lucas Oil ASCS National series.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at