Randy Martin Wins Sprint Invaders Stop at Lee County!

Randy Martin won Sunday night's Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region main event at Double X Speedway in California, MO. (Rob Kocak photo)

From Bill W.

July 8, 2011 – California, Missouri’s Randy Martin ended a bit of a drought for himself by picking up $1,200 and the feature event at the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa Friday night. The event coincided with the Lee County Fair.

Justin Parrish shot out from his pole position to lead the non-stop 25-lap feature early on. The low side seemed to be quickest early on and saw a multitude of drivers choosing the groove, but Martin was one of the few to try the high side from his fifth starting spot. Bobby Mincer started outside row one and ran second early on. Soon he was battling with Martin for the spot, before the latter took the spot on lap eight.

As Parrish approached lapped traffic, Martin gained momentum on the top and took the lead on lap eleven. Seventh starter, Josh Schneiderman, was gaining ground on the leaders on the high side, as was tenth starting, Larry Ball Jr. The pair battled with Justin Parrish for the second spot late before Schneiderman moved into the position with five laps to go. Ball Jr. followed him into third, and that’s how the top three was checkered.

“We were actually planning on running low, but the leaders were down there early,” said Martin after recording the win. “I was losing ground down there, so I went up top. We kind of got it blown off after three or four laps and it started coming in. Lapped traffic was tough at times. There was a car that had been running the bottom and decided to come up, and that broke my rhythm a bit. It had been a while since we had won one, so it was a good deal.”

Schneiderman ended his run second after starting seventh. “We set the car up for the bottom, and we planned on running the first twelve laps down there to see where it got us,” he said. “I knew I could tune it for the top side. I saw Randy go there, and I wanted to get there ASAP. We really found something on the cushion. We lacked some brakes, so I couldn’t do everything I wanted up there, but it was a good run.”

Ball Jr. finished third. “The car was too good early on,” he said. “At the halfway point, I got into third, but I had used up the car getting to Schneiderman. I blistered every block on my tire. It’s the first time we’ve run a short track in about five years, so we’re happy with tonight.”

Joe Beaver gained fourth late ahead of Parrish. Dustin Selvage, dash winner, Jon Agan, Mark Shirshekan, Matt Sutton and Mincer rounded out the top ten. Heats were won by Parrish, Selvage, Agan and Mincer. Ryan Jamison drove from eleventh to the win the 12-lap B main.

The Sprint Invaders will be in action next on Thursday, July 14 at the Cedar County Speedway in Tipton, Iowa.


Ideal Ready Mix A main (started), 25 laps: 1. 14, Randy Martin, California, MO (5) 2. 2, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (7) 3. 5J, Larry Ball Jr., Knoxville, IA (10) 4. 53, Joe Beaver, Knoxville, IA (8) 5. 4J, Justin Parrish, Oquawka, IL (1) 6. 7x, Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA (6) 7. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (3) 8. 3x, Mark Shirshekan, Farmington, MO (15) 9. 3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL (11) 10. 15, Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA (2) 11. 10, Mike Trent, Rocheport, MO (18) 12. 40, Andy Huston, Roseville, IL (4) 13. 97, Blake Nimee, Oswego, IL (11) 14. 51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA (17) 15. 5JR, Jamie Ball, Knoxville, IA (20) 16. 5m, Miranda Arnold, Sedalia, MO (19) 17. 3P, Rusty Potter, Boonville, MO (13) 18. 99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL (14) 19. 80x, CJ Houseman, Des Moines, IA (16) 20. 10T, Tim Moore, Rock Island, IL (12). Lap Leaders: Parrish 1-10, Martin 11-25. KSE Hard-charger: Beaver. Scott Boles Trucking Mystery Spot: Mike Trent.

Golden Eagle Distributing – Budweiser Heat one (started), 8 laps: 1. Justin Parrish (1) 2. Randy Martin (3) 3. Blake Nimee (2) 4. Rusty Potter (7) / 5. 50P, Harold Pohren, Lowell, IA (4) 6. 165, Haley Arnold, Sedalia, MO (6) 7. 4m, Mark Tischer, Hannibal, MO (5) DNS – 7, Dustin Whiting, Burlington, IA

Huston Land Improvement Heat two (started), 8 laps: 1. Dustin Selvage (1) 2. Andy Huston (3) 3. Larry Ball Jr. (7) 4. Jimmy Davies (5) / 5. Miranda Arnold (6) 6. 1st, John Greenwood, Johnston, IA (4) 7. 14P, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL (2)

CenPeCo Lubricants Heat three (started), 8 laps: 1. Jon Agan (3) 2. Josh Schneiderman (4) 3. Matt Sutton (1) 4. Mark Shirshekan (7) / 5. Mike Trent (5) 6. Jamie Ball (2) 7. Ryan Jamison (6)

Randall’s Performance Heat four (started), 8 laps: 1. Bobby Mincer (6) 2. Joe Beaver (4) 3. Tim Moore (1) 4. CJ Houseman (3) / 5. 18, Jami Lusher, Pekin, IL (2) 6. 16HD, Bart Andrews, Muscatine, IA (7) 7. 53H, Matt Harms, Lacon, IL (5)

Shimek Speedway Shake-up Dash (started), 6 laps: 1. Jon Agan (2) 2. Andy Huston (1) 3. Randy Martin (3) 4. Dustin Selvage (5) 5. Justin Parrish (4) 6. Bobby Mincer (8) 7. Josh Schneiderman (6) 8. Joe Beaver (7)

Holtkamp’s Truck and Trailer Repair B main (started), 12 laps: 1. Ryan Jamison (11) 2. Mike Trent (3) 3. Miranda Arnold (2) 4. Jamie Ball (7) / 5. Bart Andrews (8) 6. Harold Pohren (1) 7. Haley Arnold (5) 8. Kaley Gharst (10) 9. John Greenwood (6) 10. Jami Lusher (4) 11. Mark Tischer (9) 12. Dustin Whiting (13) 13. Matt Harms (12)


Brakeman – Justin Parrish

Super Shox – Andy Huston

Rod End Supply – Bobby Mincer, Ryan Jamison

Competition Suspension – Jamie Ball

Saldana Racing Products – Jimmy Davies

Keizer Wheels – Tim Moore