ASCS Midwest at Crawford County Speedway on Friday!

ASCS Midwest Region American Sprint Car Series Logo

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (July 18, 2011) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is set for its annual stop at the 5/8-mile Crawford County Speedway dirt oval in Denison, IA, this Friday night.

Friday night’s event marks the sixth annual July event at Crawford County Speedway for the ASCS Midwest Regional forces.

Missouri’s Brian Brown has topped two previous ASCS Midwest events at Crawford County Speedway in July, including last year’s stop. Other July winners in Denison include Bronson Maeschen in 2009, current Midwest points leader Jack Dover in 2008 and Wade Nygaard in 2006.

Dover holds the current Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest points lead with other top Regional contenders including Colorado’s Bryan Gossel, North Dakota’s Lee Grosz and Nebraska contenders Jordan Boston, Billy Alley, Gage Dorr and Tyler Drueke among others.

While Dover sits atop Midwest points, Brian Brown has collected the most Midwest wins this season with three triumphs. Wayne Johnson is the only other driver with multiple wins at two, with single wins claimed by Dover, Shane Stewart, Danny Lasoski, Chad Humston, Seth Bergman and Brad Loyet.

The semi-banked, 5/8-mile Crawford County Speedway dirt oval is located in Denison, IA, 0.6 miles north of US 30 on US 59, then 0.6 miles northeast on SR 39. For more information, contact the track at 712-263-5306 or 712-677-9912.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Crawford County Speedway:
7/21/10 – Brian Brown
7/31/09 – Bronson Maeschen
7/18/08 – Jack Dover
7/20/07 – Brian Brown
* 6/16/07 – Jason Johnson
7/21/06 – Wade Nygaard
6/16/06 – Brian Brown

* – Denotes events held in conjunction with Lucas Oil ASCS National series.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at