ASCS Midwest vs. Warrior Rubber Match Friday at U.S. 36!

American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (August 22, 2011) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest and Warrior Regions have squared off twice already this season top the ultra-fast high banks of Cameron, Missouri’s U.S. 36 Raceway.

And, in those two previous events, a Midwest representative won the first time while a Warrior shoe topped the second clash.

This Friday night will be the rubber match, as the ASCS Midwest and Warrior Regions clash for a third and final time of the year at U.S. 36 Raceway.

Leading their respective Regions into the event are Jack Dover (Midwest) and Brad Loyet (Warrior), both of whom have tasted past ASCS glory at U.S. 36. Dover, the 21-year-old from Springfield, NE, has won twice at U.S. 36, including most recently in June of 2010, while 23-year-old Loyet of Sunset Hills, MO, won the recent clash event at U.S. 36 on July 15.

While Loyet won the most recent Midwest vs. Warrior card, Midwest rep Wayne Johnson topped the first 2011 card on June 17

After ranking fourth with the premier Lucas Oil ASCS National series in 2010, Dover is closing in on a second ASCS Midwest championship with a healthy lead over Bryan Gossel, Lee Grosz, Jordan Boston and Wayne Johnson entering Friday’s action.

Loyet, a rookie in the Sprint Car ranks after collecting several Midget titles, holds a 111-point edge over four-time champion Randy Martin in the Warrior title chase with Kyle Bell, Jonathan Cornell and Mark Shirshekan also among the top five.

Friday’s racing action atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval is set to fire off at 8:00 p.m.

U.S. 36 Raceway is located 50 miles northeast of Kansas City on I-35 to Exit 54, then 6.3 miles west on U.S. 36, then 0.1 mile north on SR 33. For more information, contact the track at 816-675-2279.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

The inaugural season of Speedway Motors Warrior Region action under the ASCS banner currently consists of 17 nights of competition at nine different tracks throughout Missouri and into Kansas.

Past ASCS Regional Winners at U.S. 36 Raceway:
7/15/11 – Brad Loyet (Midwest vs. Warrior)
6/17/11 – Wayne Johnson (Midwest vs. Warrior)
7/16/10 – Bronson Maeschen (Midwest)
6/18/10 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
6/19/09 – Jesse Hockett (Midwest)
7/11/08 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
9/7/07 – Jesse Hockett (Midwest)
9/8/06 – Chris Morgan (Midwest)
6/23/06 – Toby Chapman (Midwest)
9/9/05 – Johnny Anderson (Midwest)

Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Top Ten: 1. 53-Jack Dover (Springfield, NE) 1,786, 2. 6g-Bryan Gossel (Ft. Collins, CO) 1,419, 3. 4j-Lee Grosz (Harwood, ND) 1,386, 4. 4-Jordan Boston (Lincoln, NE) 1,345, 5. 38-Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 1,344, 6. Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO) 1,102, 7. 22-Billy Alley (Lincoln, NE) 1,071, 8. 2-Don Droud, Jr. (Lincoln, NE) 910, 9. 0-Jeff Osborn (Savannah, MO) 868, 10. 11x-Gregg Bakker (Sioux Falls, SD) 864.

Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Top Ten: 1. 05-Brad Loyet (Sunset Hills, MO) 1,508, 2. 14-Randy Martin (California, MO) 1,397, 3. 86-Kyle Bellm (Nixa, MO) 1,363, 4. 28-Jonathan Cornell (Sedalia, MO) 1,325, 5. 3-Mark Shirshekan (Farmington, MO) 1,239, 6. 9m-Cody Baker (Lone Jack, MO) 1,204, 7. 09-Josh Stephens (Buckner, MO) 1,133, 8. 75-Tyler Blank (California, MO) 1,045, 9. 33-Austin Alumbaugh (Higginsville, MO) 933, 10. 11-Chad Corken (Highlands Ranch, CO) 807.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at