Alumbaugh Gets Second WAR Win at US 36

Wingless Auto Racing war logo

From Chad Buford

Osborn, MO — (July 29th, 2012) —  Becoming only the second driver to pick up multiple wins in 2012,  points leader Austin Alumbaugh wired the field to pick up his second win of the season on Sunday night at US 36 Raceway.

Alumbaugh, who was scheduled to start in row two, took advantage of Josh Stephens electing to go to the tail and try the Front Row Challenge for extra money and contingency awards.

Alumbaugh shot into the lead at the green as he was chased early by Steven Cross and Chris Parkinson.

Stephens, starting fourteenth in the field, moved his way into the top five within the first six laps and continued his march forward as he got by Cross for third on lap eight.

With Alumbaugh strongly out front, Stephens set his sights on second-running Parkinson.  On lap twelve, Stephens got by Parkinson and it appeared that he might have a shot at catching Alumbaugh.
Alumbaugh continued his strong run over the last half of the race as he won by several car lengths in his Rick Smith owned MRP with Engine Connection power.  Stephens ran a strong second in his Steve Neale owned Eagle powered by an RMS motor. Mitchell Moore, second in the WAR point standings, kept the margin close with a strong third place finish in his Kelly Potter owned #51.  Parkinson was a solid fourth in his CMP Airworks #66.  Rounding out the top five was Kenny Potter in his own XXX.  Running his first ever WAR race, Jeff Lowery was sixth with Cross running seventh.  Rounding out the top ten were J.R. Topper, Stu Snyder, and John Helm.

WAR will next be in action on Sunday August 12th at the Atchison County Raceway in Atchison, KS.


WAR Results from US 36 Raceway-


25 lap A Main Finish:   1.  26 Austin Alumbaugh, Higginsville, MO (1)   2.  09 Josh Stephens, Buckner, MO (14)   3.  51 Mitchell Moore, Edgerton, KS (10)    4. 66 Chris Parkinson, Gladstone, MO (3)   5. 55 Kenny Potter, Harrisonville, MO (6)   6.  45 Jeff Lowery, Eagle, NE (7)   7. 19s Steven Cross, Clinton, MO (2)   8. 92j J.R. Topper, St. Joseph, MO (4)   9. 21s Stu Snyder, Waverly, NE (12)   10. 12 John Helm, Kearney, MO (5)   11. 43 Frank Brown, Marshall, MO (11)   12. 88 Chad Tye, Independence, MO (9)  13. 81 Chad Shields, Grain Valley, MO (8) 14. 61R Bill Nolker, Lawson, MO (13)   DNS: 60R Rod Baker, Hardin, MO


Waterloo Industries Toolbox Winner: Josh Stephens

Rod End Supply and Schure Built Suspensions Heat Race Winner: Austin Alumbaugh

Rod End Supply and Steve Watt Enterprises Heat Race Winner: J. R. Topper

Keizer Wheels Tough Luck Award: Stu Snyder