Bean Tops USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series Fieldon the US 24 Speedway Dirt

rom Eric Bunn


Lebanon, IN  — (August 11, 2012) —  Fighting a head cold and the USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series field, Jessica Bean took the checkered flag 1st on the dirt bullring at US 24 Speedway on Saturday Night August 11.  Bean’s win also gives her the honor of being the 1st United States Speed Association driver to take a win on a dirt track.

Bean started her Glass Hammer Racing Kenyon midget on the pole of the 30-lap event and was never headed.  However, her night wasn’t easy as series first timer Scotty Simpson made several runs at her during the race, getting along side in turn three twice.

Series point leader Travis Young came from a third row start to work Simpson hard throughout the last half of the race. “I was wearing him out, but I couldn’t get him to make that one mistake,” said Young describing his bout with Simpson.

Point runner-up Dameron Taylor, making his dirt debut at US 24, needed to pick up dirt racing quick as he was faced with a race long duel with Spencer Bayston.  The two drivers swapped spots several time a lap until Bayston executed a perfect slide job in turns 3 and 4 to take the 4th position for good.

Nick Hamilton won the first 8-lap heat.  Simpson World Indy Rookie of the Year point leader Dameron Taylor picked up the win in the second heat.

The featured was slowed by one only one caution flag on lap 8 when Hamilton and Cordy Horn tangled in turn 2.

The USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series point race is still anybody’s championship to win with Young leading Taylor by just 51 points.  Bean’s win jumped her past Cordy into the third spot with a 30 point margin.  All four drivers are in competition to take the series championship, as Young leads Horn be 151 points, just 1 point more than USSA driver earns for a 6h place finish.

The USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series returns to action at US 24 Speedway on Saturday August 25.

USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series Point Standings as of 8/11: 1 – Travis Young 2364, 2 – Dameron Taylor 2333, 3 – Jessica Bean 2263, 4 – Cory Horn 2233, 5 – Grant Simpson 1837, 6 – Amanda Davies 1586, 7 – Natasha Cox 1405, 8 – Dave Fuhrman 1073, 9 – Kyle Tilley 990, 10 – Nick Hamilton 899, 11 – Grant Galloway 639, 12 – Spencer Bayston 603, 13 – Tim Taylor 556, 14 – Chris Dickey 525, 15 – Anthony McCune 358, 16 – Sondi Eden 221, 17 – Scotty Simpson 212, 18 – Kent Kriegbaum 166