Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Invade Quebec for Three Nights

By Dean Reynolds

SYRACUSE, NY – As the stretch drive begins for the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints, a very important three event weekend awaits up in the province of Quebec. Full point events at Autodrome Granby and Le RPM Speedway on Friday and Saturday will be followed by the first ever wingless challenge back at RPM on Sunday.

Back in June, Justin Barger took the victory at Granby over a talented field in the pits. This Friday he will be back in hopes of the $1,850 payday that comes to the winner. With the added tow money set for the night if you take the green flag in the A-Main you will take home a cool $500.

The next night it’s off to the exciting quarter-mile in St. Marcel, Le RPM will host its third ESS sanctioned event in a row. The $1,800 to win $450 to start event will also be a very important stop on the tour.

These two events will close out the Fondations 4 Saisons Quebec Super Star Series where the top ten in points will split up from the lucrative point fund. Barger leads Quebec’s own Alain Bergeron and Paul Kinney in the series.

The Le Groupe Ultra Tour of Canada will also see the final two full point events with show-up points awarded at the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals closing out that point Series.

Then on Sunday night, history will be made as it will be ESS’ first ever wingless event in the 30 year history of the club. The $1,800 to win $260 to start event will see who is the best ESS driver with the wings off.

To add to the pot, Eric Varin Roofing has set up at $1,000 point fund to the top five in points from the winged event on Saturday and the wingless event on Sunday.

The weekend will also see a very friendly rivalry as the stars from the US will battle the stars from Canada. Heading the US side will be current ESS point leader Chuck Hebing, Lance Yonge, Barger, Shawn Donath, Kinney, Cory Sparks, Matt Tanner, Mike Stelter, Jeff Cook, Kevin Ward Jr., Jason Barney, Joe Trenca, James Hanson, Anthony Cain and Russ Bennett.

From Canada, Steve Poirier will lead the brigade along with Michael Parent, Bergeron, Patrick Vigneault, Etienne Girard, Dale Gosselin, Tyler Rand, Kayle Robidoux and Donald Lemire.

Three nights in Quebec, the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints with wings on and wings off…It will be excitement guaranteed!!

For more information:


Twitter: @ESSprints


Facebook: Search Groups – Le RPM Speedway

Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Autodrome Granby

June 17, 1994

Roger Horvath

June 23, 1995

Mike Woodring

Sept. 1, 1995

Craig Keel

June 21, 1996

Mike Woodring

June 20, 1997

Mike Woodring

Aug. 29, 1997

Bobby Parrow

June 19, 1998

Mike Woodring

Sept. 4, 1998

Lance Yonge

June 25, 1999

Mike Stelter

Sept. 3, 1999

Lance Yonge

June 23, 2000

Mike Wodoring

Sept. 1, 2000

Mike Stelter

June 21, 2002

Mike Woodring

Aug. 30, 2002

Mike Woodring

June 20, 2003

Mike Woodring

June 18, 2004

John Karklin Jr.

Sept. 3, 2004

John Karklin Jr.

July 29, 2005

Lance Yonge

June 16, 2006

Doug Emery

July 28, 2006

Steve Poirier

Sept. 1, 2006

Jeff VanDusen

June 15, 2007

Chuck Hebing

July 27, 2007

Jeff Cook

Aug. 31, 2007

June 13, 2008

Aug. 1, 2008

Steve Poirier

Steve Poirier

Alain Bergeron

Aug. 29, 2008

Steve Poirier

June 5, 2009

Steve Poirier

July 31, 2009

Sept. 4, 2009

June 4, 2010

Aug. 27, 2010

June 3, 2011

Aug. 5, 2011

May 11, 2012

May 12, 2012

June 1, 2012

Justin Barger

Chuck Hebing

Jessica Zemken

Jeff Cook

Shawn Donath

Steve Poirier

Shane Stewart, Dain Naida

Shawn Stewart

Justin Barger

Past Empire Super Sprints Winners at Le RPM

Aug. 29, 2010

Dan Kaszubinski

Aug. 6, 2011

Cory Sparks

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Le Groupe Ultra, SUNY Canton, Universal American, Hoosier Racing Tires, Fondations 4 Saisons, Cobra Coaches, Westward Painting Company, Mach 1 Chassis, Lee’s Repair Auto and Truck, Fondations 55, Eric Varin Roofing, North Eastern Pool and Spa, Car Mate Trailers, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Ohsweken Speedway, Northwood 2 Construction/Lasalle Motorsports, AKS Firearms, Jasmin Peloquin Sport, 730 Truck Stop, Riverside Bar and Grill, FX Chevy and many, many associate sponsors!!