Peterson Scores Huge Victory In Yakima To End 2013

ASCS Northwest Region

From Ben Deatherage

Yakima, WA — (September 21, 2013) — Central Washington State Fair Raceway was the scene of the final race of the 2013 season for the American Sprint Car Series-Northwest Region. The 3/8-mile clay oval, located in Yakima, Washington, would witness youngster Jared Peterson claim his first career series victory.

When it was time for the feature it would get to a slow start due to several stoppages. But despite the sluggish beginnings Jared Peterson would keep his mount in front of the field taking full advantage of his pole starting position. A scary moment would occur around lap eleven when Peterson would get held up briefly in lapped traffic and would allow Everett, Washington’s Colton Heath, in the L.A.W. Motorsports/Shark Racing Engines/Premier Auto Wreckers #33 XXX driving for car owners Alan Larson and Kelly Welch, to briefly take the top spot.

But a caution would happen before a complete lap would be recorded and it would give back the lead to Peterson. On the ensuing restart Peterson would take care of business and the Stanwood, Washington driver would score the victory. As mentioned previously it would be the first series win for Peterson as he would park the All Points Petroleum/Island Muffler & Brake/Cascade Recycling #7N KPC in the winner’s circle for car owner Roger Henderson.

2013 ASCS-Northwest Region champion Roger Crockett, of Medford, Oregon, would finish his impressive campaign with a second place result for him and the SKS Racing/Al Parker Racing Engines/Champion Racing Oil #11 KPC followed by the Kovash Logging/Johansen Excavating/Les Schwab Tires of Enumclaw #33V A.R.T. of Henry Van Dam from Enumclaw was third. Mill Creek, Washington pilot Cam Smith would cross the line in fourth driving the Dave Smith Motorsports/Don Ott Racing Engines/Nelson Texturing #17 Maxim while the Millstone Heating/Shark Racing Engines #24C of Eric Fisher of Mount Vernon, Washington was fifth driving for car owner Randy Price.

Earlier in the evening four heat races were ran along with a consolation main event. The heat race winners were Randy Pierce of Meridian, Idaho in the American Wallcover/Rocky Mountain Collision/Ameri-Truss Systems #P12 Eagle, the Jayme Barnes Trucking/Jay’s Automotive #9 entry of Jayme Barnes from Everett, Washington, Colton Heath, and Shelton, Washington’s Jay Cole in his Bulldog Trailers/Our Community Credit Union/Jack Dilly Logging #0J XXX. Winner of the consolation feature was Snohomish, Washington driver Josh DeWitt in his High Line Manufacturing/Diversified Machine Inc./Pro Shocks #5D mount.

Well race fans that will do it for another great year of the ASCS-Northwest Region. We hope everyone enjoyed the season as much as we did and we look forward to the 2014 campaign. For the latest information regarding the series during the offseason you can log on to

Race Summary:
American Sprint Car Series-Northwest Region Race #20
Saturday September 21st, 2013
Central Washington State Fair Raceway
Yakima, Washington

A Feature: 1. 7N-Jared Peterson[1]; 2. 11-Roger Crockett[4]; 3. 33V-Henry Van Dam[6]; 4. 17-Cam Smith[3]; 5. 24-Eric Fisher[5]; 6. 3 -J.J. Hickle[12]; 7. 5D-Josh DeWitt[17]; 8. 22-Garen Linder[8]; 9. 08-Steve Vague[7]; 10. 29-Randy Price[13]; 11. 23-Rob Lindsey[19]; 12. P12-Randy Pierce[9]; 13. 4-Jesse Thistle[18]; 14. 33-Colton Heath[2]; 15. 9-Jayme Barnes[10]; 16. 9R-Reece Goetz[14]; 17. 97R-Jason Reed[16]; 18. 21T-Zack Spaulding[15]; 19. 0J-Jay Cole[11]; 20. 71-Kyle Miller[20]

B Feature: 1. 5D-Josh DeWitt[5]; 2. 4-Jesse Thistle[1]; 3. 23-Rob Lindsey[2]; 4. 71-Kyle Miller[6]; 5. 4J-Allison Journey[3]; 6. 66-John Keller[7]; DNS 10J-Jake Waddell; DNS 98-Matt Jensen

Heat 1: 1. P12-Randy Pierce[2]; 2. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith[4]; 3. 22-Garen Linder[5]; 4. 21T-Zack Spaulding[3]; 5. 29-Randy Price[6]; 6. 10J-Jake Waddell[1]

Heat 2: 1. 9-Jayme Barnes[2]; 2. 08-Steve Vague[4]; 3. 7N-Jared Peterson[6]; 4. 4-Jesse Thistle[1]; 5. 9R-Reece Goetz[5]; 6. 5D-Josh DeWitt[3]

Heat 3: 1. 33-Colton Heath[4]; 2. 24-Eric Fisher[6]; 3. 11-Roger Crockett[5]; 4. 23-Rob Lindsey[1]; 5. 4J-Allison Journey[3]; DNS 71-Kyle Miller

Heat 4: 1. 0J-Jay Cole[1]; 2. 33V-Henry Van Dam[5]; 3. 3 -J.J. Hickle[3]; 4. 97R-Jason Reed[2]; 5. 66-John Keller[6]; 6. 98-Matt Jensen[4]