Egel and Falland Crowned State Champs at Speedway City

From Phil Michell

Adialide, AU — (March 22, 2014) — Last night saw the running of both the South Australian 410ci and 360ci Sprintcar Championships at Speedway City with the night providing some excellent wheel to wheel racing along with a touch of controversy. At the conclusion of the 30 lap 410ci finale Matt Egel was able to defend the title he won 12 months earlier while Keke Falland became the new 360ci Champion after race winner Chad Ely was disqualified after failing to comply with the minimum weight rules.

Unfortunately the fields for both classes were well down on what were expected with only 15 410ci Sprintcars while only 13 360ci drivers were on hand. But despite the lack of numbers the racing was still of a high standard, which was a great reflection of the driving talent that South Australia currently enjoys.

Following the heat races Egel qualified on the pole with Terry Pitt, Brad Keller, Ryan Jones, Jamie Cobby and Ricky Maiolo making up the first three rows. At the drop of the green Jones made a lightning start from the second row and led the field into turn one and he held the position until Egel got by in turn three five laps into the race.

But it wasn’t long until Jones ran down Egel and made the pass in turn one to once again pace the field. But that is where his impressive run would end as he later spun in turn three with Jones ultimately ending the race on the infield. It was later confirmed that Jones had caught his arm restraints around the steering wheel causing him to lose control of his race car.

From that point there was no stopping Egel as he went on to secure his second South Australian Championship ahead of Brad Keller, Scott Bogucki, who was utilising a 372ci engine, Jamie Cobby and Terry Pitt.

Pre event favourite Luke Dillon had a tough night as he rolled in his final heat and therefore was forced to start from position fourteen and was only able to claw his way up to eighth.

Earlier heat winners included Terry Pitt, Matt Egel, Brad Keller and Ricky Maiolo.

Prior to the 410ci Sprintcar event the 360ci State Championship was decided with Keke Falland securing his first State Championship after initially finishing second in an event dominated by Chad Ely. But following Ely’s disqualification Falland was awarded the win ahead of Victorian Harley Bishop and Mark Caruso, who was lucky to make the podium after being sent to the rear of the field after making contact with Brendan Quinn.

Unfortunately the 30 lap final was marred by several major incidents with Treagan Gates, Dan Evans and Darryl Guerin all going upside down.

Earlier the heat wins went the way of Ely (2) and Mark Caruso.