It’s Stasa Again with the ASCS Lone Star Region

By Bryan Hulbert

LUBBOCK, Texas (April 25, 2014) – For the second race in a row with the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region, Patrick Stasa claimed the winner’s check, leading start to finish at the Lubbock Speedway for a $2,000 score.

After an opening red lap for Jake Martens, the restart saw Stasa race ahead of Blake Hahn.ASCS American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region Logo Tease

Working into traffic on Lap 8, Stasa and Hahn’s race nearly ended after contact with Stasa and John James send the No. 4j spinning, collecting Hahn who kept the car from stalling; holding his runner up spot on the restart.

The red flew again on Lap 12 for Josh Baughman who came together with Kolt Walker, then on Lap 18 for the No. 51 of Matt Ward after contact with Shawn Petersen. All drivers involved were okay, Petersen and Walker continued.

The final restart was all tire smoke as the track was sticky with rubber around the bottom. Stasa went unchallenged in the final sprint. Blake Hahn was second with a flat Right Rear, followed by Johnny Herrera, John Carney II, and Harli White making up the top five.

After getting caught up with the leaders early on, John James came back to sixth. Brandon Black, Scott Pace, Brandon Williams, and Shawn Petersen completed the top ten.

The Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region heads to the Abilene Speedway on Saturday, April 26 with races getting underway at 8:00 P.M. For continued updates on the ASCS Lone Star Region, log onto

Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region
Lubbock Speedway – Lubbock, Texas
Friday, April 25, 2014

Car Count: 22

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera; 2. 23-Seth Bergman; 3. 17X-Josh Baughman; 4. 17W-Harli White; 5. 0C-Brandon Black; 6. 4J-John James; DNS 51X-Shane Redline; DNS 37-Dustin McCarty

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn; 2. 2K-John Kelly; 3. 74B-John Carney II; 4. 51-Matt Ward; 5. 12M-Kolt Walker; 6. 16-Cory Riley; 7. 2X-Brandon Williams

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 48-Jake Martens; 2. 19-Patrick Stasa; 3. 4X-Shawn Petersen; 4. 12-James Mosher; 5. 24-Scott Pace; 6. (DNF) 11P-Preston Peebles II; DNS 58-Gary Floyd

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. 19-Patrick Stasa[1]; 2. 17-Blake Hahn[3]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 4. 74B-John Carney II[6]; 5. 17W-Harli White[9]; 6. 4J-John James[16]; 7. 2K-John Kelly[5]; 8. 0C-Brandon Black[15]; 9. 24-Scott Pace[13]; 10. 4X-Shawn Petersen[11]; 11. 16-Cory Riley[17]; 12. 12M-Kolt Walker[14]; 13. 2X-Brandon Williams[19]; 14. (DNF) 12-James Mosher[10]; 15. (DNF) 51-Matt Ward[7]; 16. (DNF) 17X-Josh Baughman[12]; 17. (DNF) 58-Gary Floyd[21]; 18. (DNF) 11P-Preston Peebles II[18]; 19. (DNF) 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 20. (DNF) 48-Jake Martens[8]; DNS 51X-Shane Redline; DNS 37-Dustin McCarty

Lap Leader: Patrick Stasa 1-20