Nick Aiuto - 10th in USAC SouthWest points. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.
Nick Aiuto - 10th in USAC SouthWest points. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.
Nick Aiuto – 10th in USAC SouthWest points. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.

From Lance Jennings

Peoria, AZ — (June 11, 2014) — This Saturday, June 14th, the popular USAC SouthWest Sprint Cars will return to Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park for the “Father’s Day Classic.” Promoted by Kevin Montgomery, the action packed showcase will also feature IMCA Modifieds, Mini Sprints, Pure Stocks, and Renegades. In addition, an open practice will be held on Wednesday, June 11th, from 6pm to 9pm. The Front Gates will open at 5:00pm with Racing scheduled to begin at 7:00pm.

Saturday’s event will be the eleventh of seventeen races at the fast 1/3-mile oval. “The People’s Champion” Dave Darland has three victories and Josh Pelkey has two triumphs. Brady Bacon, Colby Copeland, “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr., R.J. Johnson, and Richard Vander Weerd have one “home track” win. To date, Johnson leads all USAC SouthWest drivers with 14 career wins and 7 victories at Canyon Speedway Park.

After winning last Saturday at Queen Creek’s Arizona Speedway, R.J. Johnson of Phoenix has a thirteen point advantage over the competition. Driving Bill Michaels’ #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson has three feature wins, four heat race victories, one hard charger award, twelve top-10 finishes, and 68 feature laps led to his credit. The defending champion will be looking to extend his point lead with his series leading 15th USAC SouthWest victory.

Peoria’s Josh Pelkey ranks second in the point standings. Piloting Robbie and Gaye Allen’s 12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts Maxim, Pelkey finished third in the Queen Creek feature. At press time, the 1997 ASCA Champion has two feature wins, three heat race victories, two hard charger awards, thirteen top-10 finishes, and 53 feature laps led. Josh will have his sights on taking over the point lead with his fourth series triumph.

“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. of Buckeye sits third in the chase for the championship. Racing the Massey Motorsports’ #50 RSS Industries / MP Environmental RSS, Davis ran second at Queen Creek after leading the first nineteen laps. To date, the five-time state champion has two feature wins, eight heat race victories, eleven top-10 finishes, and 57 feature laps led on the year. “Chargin” Charles will be looking move up the standings with his ninth SouthWest main event win.

Phoenix’s Shon Deskins is fourth in the USAC SouthWest point chase. Driving his #20 MP Environmental / Performance Plus Spike, Deskins scored fourth last Saturday night. Heading to Canyon, the veteran driver has one feature win, three heat race victories, and nine top-10 finishes on the season. At Canyon, Shon will have his sights on taking home his second USAC SouthWest winning trophy.

After running fifth at Queen Creek, Matt Rossi of Phoenix has climbed to fifth in the championship points. Piloting the family owned #02 Apache Scapes / Advanced Engine Components Spike, Rossi has one heat race victory, one hard charger award, and six top-10 finishes in the campaign. This Saturday, Matt will be looking for his first “home track” victory.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are “The Kid” Tye Mihocko, Andy Reinbold, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin, Mike Colegrove, Nick Aiuto, “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James, Michael Curtis, Mike Bonneau, Stevie Sussex, Chris Bonneau, Brian Hosford, Josh Shipley, Tom Ogle, Mark Morin, Dennis Giles, and more.

Canyon Speedway Park is located at 9777 West Carefree Highway in Peoria, Arizona. To get to the track, take Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway. Adult Tickets are $15 with $2 discounts available for Seniors, Military, and Students. Kids Tickets (7-12) are $6 and Children (6 and under) are FREE. VIP passes are available for $20 and advance tickets are on sale now. For more event information, visit or call 602.258.7223 (RACE).

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series thanks Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire, Racers Advantage Store, and the Hose Advantage Store for their support. For more information on the group, visit,, or follow the series on Facebook (
7-R.J. Johnson, 5-Bryan Clauson, 3-Dave Darland, 3-Charles Davis Jr., 2- Josh Pelkey, 1-Brady Bacon, 1-Colby Copeland, 1-Mike Spencer, 1-Richard Vander Weerd.

1. R.J. Johnson-483, 2. Josh Pelkey-470, 3. Charles Davis Jr.-461, 4. Shon Deskins-416, 5. Matt Rossi-349, 6. Tye Mihocko-339, -. Andy Reinbold-339, -. Mike Martin-339, 9. Mike Colegrove-301, 10. Nick Aiuto-296, 11. Bruce St. James-281, 12. Michael Curtis-271, 13. Mike Bonneau-242, 14. Stevie Sussex-239, 15. Chris Bonneau-225, 16. Brian Hosford-220, 17. Josh Shipley-207, 18. Thomas Ogle-200, 19. Mark Morin-150, 20. Dennis Giles-116.

June 14: Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Father’s Day Classic)
June 28: Prescott Valley Speedway – Prescott Valley, AZ
July 12: Arizona Speedway – Queen Creek, AZ
July 26: Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Summer Slam)
August 1: Prescott Valley Speedway – Prescott Valley, AZ (Rick Stewart Memorial)
August 2: Prescott Valley Speedway – Prescott Valley, AZ (Rick Stewart Memorial)
August 13: Lawton Speedway – Lawton, OK (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 14: Creek County Speedway – Sapulpa, OK (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 15: 81 Speedway – Wichita, KS (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 16: Dodge City Raceway Park – Dodge City, KS (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 29: **El Paso Speedway Park – El Paso, TX (Border Tour)
August 30: **Southern New Mexico Speedway – Las Cruces, NM (Border Tour)
August 31: **Tularosa Speedway – Tularosa, NM (Border Tour)
September 6: Arizona Speedway – Queen Creek, AZ
September 20: Central Arizona Raceway – Casa Grande, AZ
September 27: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Brawl For It All / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series)
October 11: Prescott Valley Speedway – Prescott Valley, AZ
October 18: Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Southwest Championships)
November 1: Arizona Speedway – Queen Creek, AZ
November 6: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Oval Nationals / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series / Non-Points)
November 20: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships)
November 21: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships)
November 22: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships / $7,500-to-Win)
* = Co-Sanctioned Event with USAC West Coast Sprints.
** = Co-Sanctioned Event with NMMRA Sprints.
This schedule is subject to change.