Mitch Brown wins SOS feature at Buxton

Mitch Brown (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Tommy Goudge

Merlin, ON — (July 4, 2015) — The Southern Ontario Sprints tour returned to South Buxton Raceway for the second and final time in 2015. 15 cars made the trip to the Merlin, Ontario facility for round six of the 20th SOS season. Championship points leader Mitch Brown used his pole position and some crafty passing in traffic to win his second race of the season, and first at South Buxton.

Brown and Justin Martin made up the front row for the 25 lap main event. At the drop of the green flag both drivers pulled away from the field with Brown at the helm, and Martin a close second. The two paced the field for the first 15 laps of the race.

Glenn Styres, hot off two wins in a row with the SOS tour, started third and kept the leaders in sight through the first half of the race. Heavy traffic allowed him to slip by Martin for second with a bold three-wide pass down the back straightaway with just under 10 laps to go.

As Brown worked at passing cars at the tail of the field, Styres closed the gap and look poised to make a challenge for the win. Traffic would be the difference though, as Brown was able to distance himself in the final laps to keep the defending champion at arm’s length and hold on for the win. Styres, Martin, Keith Dempster, and Chris Jones completed the top five.

The win was Brown’s second of the season with the SOS, after winning the series opener at Brighton Speedway in May. The victory extends Brown’s point lead over Styres at the half way point of the 2015 series schedule.

The Southern Ontario Sprints will continue their 20th season of action on Saturday, July 11 at Brighton Speedway. For more information visit and

HEAT RACE #1 (8 laps – Top 4 redrew for A-Feature starting positions)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 0 Glenn Styres (1)
2. 11t Jamie Turner (2)
3. 7m Justin Martin (5)
4. 11j Chris Jones (6)
5. 30 Adam West (8)
6. 71s Shawn Sliter (7)
7. 11z Darren Zumpe (3)
8. 66 Frank Baranowski (4)

HEAT RACE #2 (8 laps – Top 4 redrew for A-Feature starting positions)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 5 Keith Dempster (4)
2. 38 Tyler Hendricks (6)
3. 10b Mitch Brown (5)
4. 15 Mike Ferrell (1)
5. 10 Bob Crawford (2)
6. 91 Ryan Turner (3)
7. 69 Kris Root (7)

A-FEATURE (25 laps)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 10b Mitch Brown (1)
2. 0 Glenn Styres (3)
3. 7m Justin Martin (2)
4. 5 Keith Dempster (4)
5. 11j Chris Jones (7)
6. 38 Tyler Hendricks (5)
7. 30 Adam West (9)
8. 71s Shawn Sliter (11)
9. 11t Jamie Turner (6)
10. 91 Ryan Turner (12)
11. 15 Mike Ferrell (8)
12. 11z Darren Zumpe (13)
13. 69 Kris Root (14)
14. 10 Bob Crawford (10)
15. 66 Frank Baranowski (15)

A-Feature Lap Leaders – Mitch Brown (1-25)
Hard Charger – Shawn Sliter (+3)