Stevie Smith wins Outlaw tune up event at Williams Grove

Williams Grove Speedway Top Story

From Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg, PA — (July 17, 2015) — Stevie Smith said he is ready for the outlaws Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway after taking the checkers in the sprint car tune-up for next week’s two-day World of Outlaws Summer Nationals invasion.

“We’ll give it our best shot,” said Smith after taking his third oval win of the season aboard his Miller Brother?s Chevrolet No. 51.

In the 358 sprint main, Enola?s Kody Lehman scored his first ever win in the division at the track, holding off a tenacious charge by two-time winner Chase Dietz for the victory.

Second starter Lucas Wolfe took his stab at the lead in the 410 sprint main shortly after action began in the 25-lapper by jabbing his No. 1 underneath Smith for the lead as the pair raced through the third and fourth turns to complete lap number one.

Wolfe?s dive and drive up in front of Smith forced both pilots up over the cushion and into near disaster before Wolfe pulled his car back down to lead the first circuit.

But Smith was hot on his tail as the pair crossed the starting line and as fast as Wolfe took the lead he lost it in the first corner when Smith made a big swoop across the bottom to get control in the second corner.

Brian Montieth started fourth in the field and blasted around Wolfe for second on the fifth tour and gave chase of leader Smith.

He steadily cut into Smith?s advantage and was forcing the issue in traffic when a miscue by Smith sent backmarker Jordan Mackison careening into the second turn wall and flipping wildly after contact with Smith as he attempted to put Mackison a lap down.

Smith continued on after the red flag stoppage but took credit for the crash in victory lane, apologizing for the contact and admitting that the pressure from Montieth was all that he could handle.

With open track Smith got away at the new green and instead Greg Hodnett came on strong to get by Montieth for second with 12 laps to go.

And once into second, Hodnett steadily sliced away at Smith’s advantage and as the leader again entered the backmarkers on the 17th tour, Hodnett was there to take his shot at the win.

But just like the last time Smith was to be challenged, a yellow flag slowed the pace and cleared the track with just three laps to go.

After that Smith was home free but the show would be staged between Hodnett and Montieth to the finish as the pair swapped second on more than one occasion with Hodnett coming out on top in what was a contentious battle.

Lance Dewease swooped under Wolfe for fourth in the final two laps, relegating him to fifth at the finish.

Sixth through 10th went to Alan Krimes, Danny Dietrich, Doug Esh, Brock Zearfoss and Jim Siegel.

The victory was the 32nd of Smith’s career at Williams Grove, placing him in a tie with his father Steve Smith Sr. on the all time win list.

Heats went to Wolfe, Dewease and Siegel with Mark Smith taking the consolation and Smith winning the dash to earn the pole.

Wolfe set quick time over the field with a lap of 16.586 seconds.

Matt Findley led the first seven laps of the 20-lap 358 sprint main before Lehman muscled by on the outside for the win.

Lehman made good time around the top of the speedway and was first poised to take the lead with five laps down when the races first caution flag appeared.

It took him a few more laps after action resumed to get control.

After starting 10th, Kevin Nouse took second from Findley with nine laps to go but failed to close on the leader and he instead found 13th starter Chase Dietz challenging him for second when he suddenly dropped out of the race with three laps to go.

The restart set up an exciting finish as Dietz challenged Lehman, taking the lead briefly twice in the first and second turns only to see Lehman one-up him to reclaim the spot, first with a slingshot off the second corner and secondly with a run down low.

Lehman refused to be denied for the victory, followed by Dietz, Findley, Scott Fisher and Doug Hammaker.

Heats went to Chandler Leiby, Matt Campbell and Nouse.

July 17, 2015 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Brian Montieth, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Lucas Wolfe, 6. Alan Krimes, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. Doug Esh, 9. Brock Zearfoss, 10. Jim Siegel, 11. Cory Haas, 12. Tim Glatfelter, 13. Freddie Rahmer, 14. Pat Cannon, 15. Austin Hogue, 16. Mark Smith, 17. Rodney Westhafer, 18. Kyle Pruitt, 19. Rick Lafferty, 20. JJ Grasso, 21. Nicole Bower, 22. Steve Buckwalter, 23. Jordan Mackison, 24. Hunter Mackison

DNQ: Troy Fraker, Wayne Dadetto

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1.Kody Lehman, 2. Chase Dietz, 3. Matt Findley, 4. Scott Fisher, 5. Doug Hammaker, 6. Chandler Leiby, 7. Matt Campbell, 8. Brie Hershey, 9. Cody Fairchok, 10. Rich Eichelberger, 11. Bill Stine, 12. Adrian Shaffer, 13. Jason Shultz, 14. Amy Ott, 15. Jordan Givler, 16. Phil Walter, 17. DJ Montgomery, 18. Todd Reed, 19. Austin Kirby, 20. Kevin Nouse, 21. Adam Lyman

DNS: Russell Hammaker