Hodnett wins sprint car feature at Port Royal

Greg Hodnett. (T.J. Buffenbarger Photo)

From Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal, PA — (August 29, 2015) — Greg Hodnett won his sixth sprint car feature of the season on Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway, using a locked-down racecar to blast through the field for the $3,200 victory, the 42nd of his career at the oval.

Tim Smith Jr. of Long Hollow drove to his second win of the year in the super late model main, driving by Matt Parks for the win.

And in the super sportsman main, Chad Trout won his first ever division feature at the track.

Hodnett started seventh in the 25-lap sprint car main while Brock Zearfoss took the green flag and lead from the pole.

Zearfoss would set the early pacer over Rick Lafferty before Lance Dewease motored by for second on the sixth tour.

Hodnett got by Lafferty for third a lap later and was stalking the top two when the leaders entered the backmarkers on the ninth lap.

Dewease fell victim to Hodnett for second with 15 laps to go before the yellow flag came out for a Wayne Dadetto spin a lap later.

Hodnett just simply drove right by Zearfoss on the restart to begin his run to the checkers.

Another yellow, this time for a spinning Blane Heimbach on the 14th lap, was the only thing that hindered Hodnett during the run to the finish.

Dewease stayed close only for a lap after the race restarted before Hodnett pulled out to a 3.899 second win.

Eighth starter Lucas Wolfe drove up to third at the finish followed by Dylan Cisney and Davey Sammons.

Sixth through 10 th went to Zearfoss, Mike Wagner, Lafferty, 21st starter Mike Erdley and Ryan Taylor.

Heats went to Wolfe, Mike Wagner and Hodnett.

The start of the 22-lap late model main saw Scott Flickinger and Devin Friese connect in the third turn, producing a complete restart.

Flickinger’s crash moved Matt Parks to the pole for the new green and Parks took the lead when action started.

Tim Wilson trailed Parks with Tim Smith Jr. third on the first laps before Smith took second on the second lap.

Parks was using the low side of the speedway with the lead while Smith used the middle and top and it was that lane that he used to drive by Parks for control on the fifth circuit.

Point leader Mike Lupfer, who started seventh, made big advances during the early going to take third on the sixth tour and then second a lap later.

But once in second he couldn’t muster a challenge for the win, instead finishing .695 seconds back as the pair worked traffic during the final half of the race.

Wilson was third followed by Parks and Trent Brenneman.

Sixth through 10th went to Mitch Hack, Jeff Miller, Steve Stitt, Nick Dickson and Travis Dillman.

Heats went to Lupfer and Brenneman.

Bobby Hockenberry led the first four laps of the 20-lap super sportsman main before sixth starter Kevin Nouse blasted into control.

Nouse was pulling away on the seventh lap when he suddenly slowed and gave up the race.

Fourth starter Chad Trout was racing second for the restart with Hockenberry again at the point.

After the yellow flag for Nouse’s stopped car, Trout zipped into the lead when action resumed to speed to the victory of nearly a half lap advantage, some 6.685 seconds ahead.

Gregg Foster was third followed by Scott Dellinger and Russ Mitten.

Sixth through 10th went to Frankie Herr, Tony Jackson, Rich Eichelberger, Mike Enders and Jay Fannasy.

Heats went to Ken Edkin and Rich Eichelberger.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the tracks official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the oval on Facebook and Twitter.

Race Results:
Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Dylan Cisney, 5. Davey Sammons, 6. Brock Zearfoss, 7. Mike Wagner, 8. Rick Lafferty, 9. Mike Erdley, 10. Ryan Taylor, 11. Logan Wagner, 12. Brent Marks, 13. Blane Heimbach, 14. Wayne Dadetto, 15. Trenton Sheaffer, 16. Dustin Baney, 17. Curt Stroup, 18. Joey Hershey, 19. Mike Wagner II., 20. Cory Thornton, 21. Doug Esh, 22. Dave Hahn, 23. Nicole Bower

DNS: Vince Snyder, Steve Buckwalter

Late models, 22 laps: 1. Tim Smith Jr., 2. Mike Lupfer, 3. Tim Wilson, 4. Matt Parks, 5. Trent Brenneman, 6. Mitch Hack, 7. Jeff Miller, 8. Steve Still, 9. Nick Dickson, 10. Travis Dillman, 11. Mike Mort, 12. Steve Bailor, 13. Patrick Bryner, 14. Jason Schmidt, 15. Eric Zembower, 16. Scott Flickinger, 17. Devin Friese,

DNS: Andrew Yoder, Kody Lyter, Justin Kann

Super sportsman, 20 laps: 1. Chad Trout, 2. Bobby Hockenberry, 3. Gregg Foster, 4. Scott Dellinger, 5. Russ Mitten, 6. Frankie Herr, 7. Tony Jackson, 8. Rich Eichelberger, 9. Mike Ender, 10. Jay Fannasy, 11. Doug Dodson, 12. Chad Smith, 13. Dave Socks, 14. Kenny Edkin, 15. Carmen Perigo Jr., 16. Todd Leonard, 17. John Stoll Jr., 18. Chad Criswell, 19. Kevin Nouse, 20. Lanny Hake

DNS: Timmy Barrick