SOS Southern Ontario Sprints Top Story
By Tommy GoudgeSOS Southern Ontario Sprints Top Story
 (June 30, 2016) – London, Ontario – The 21st season of Southern Ontario Sprints series racing continues this Canada Day weekend when the tour heads to Ohsweken Speedway and South Buxton Raceway for the 5th and 6th rounds of the 2016 calendar.
 Jamie Turner leads son Ryan in the SOS championship points standings heading into this weekend’s events. Dylan Westbrook, Shawn Sliter, Mitch Brown, Dain Naida, Frank Baranowski, Mike Ferrell, Glenn Styres, and Cory Turner make up the remainder of the top 10.
Keith Dempster and Glenn Styres each have 8 SOS-sanctioned wins at Ohsweken, putting them at the top of that list at the 3/8 mile located on the Six Nations of the Grand River. Friday’s event is a challenge race between the SOS tour and Ohsweken’s weekly 360 Sprint Car division. Styres won the 2015 SOS event at Ohsweken, which has hosted 96 events for the tour dating back to 1996.
The Saturday, July 2 event at South Buxton is the second of three scheduled SOS races in Chatham-Kent in 2016. Only hot laps were completed at South Buxton on June 4 before rain cancelled the remainder of the evening. The SOS tour has raced at South Buxton 34 times since the tour’s first ever event in 1996, with Mike Ling’s 5 wins topping the all-time list at the unique 1/3 mile D-shaped track. Chris Jones and Mitch Brown scored South Buxton SOS wins in 2015.
Mitch Brown has two SOS wins already this season, as he triumphed in both events at Brighton Speedway, while Ryan Susice claimed his first Sprint Car win at Humberstone Speedway.
Southern Ontario Sprints 2016 Season Rounds 5 & 6
-Ohsweken Speedway
1987 Chiefswood Road
Ohsweken ON N0A 1M0
Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway
-South Buxton Raceway
20954 A D Shadd Road
Merlin ON N0P 1W0
Twitter: @OfficialSBRace
-Ohsweken – Friday, July 1, 2016 – Racing begins @ 7:30pm
-South Buxton – Saturday, July 2, 2016 – Racing begins @ 6:30pm
(As of June 5, 2016)
Rank. Number Name – Points Total
1. 11 Jamie Turner – 467
2. 91 Ryan Turner – 453
3. 47x Dylan Westbrook – 414
4. 71s Shawn Sliter – 352
5. 10 Mitch Brown – 343
6. 17x Dain Naida – 333
7. 66 Frank Baranowski – 332
8. 15 Mike Ferrell – 330
9. 0 Glenn Styres – 309
10. 42w Rick Wilson – 286
Mitch Brown – 2 (Brighton May 21, Brighton June 18)
Ryan Susice – 1 (Humberstone June 5)
About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2016 marks the 21st year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints, brought to you this season by, The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum, and
Twitter: @SOSsprints –